1. ArchDaily
  2. Riba Regional Awards

Riba Regional Awards: The Latest Architecture and News

7 Projects Announced as Winners of 2017 RIBA North West Regional Awards

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has announced 7 projects as winners of the 2017 RIBA North West Regional Awards, with top prize of North West Building of the Year going to Foster + Partners’ Maggie’s at the Robert Parfett Building. These seven buildings will now continue on to compete in the RIBA National Awards, whose winners will make up the shortlist for the prestigious Stirling Prize.

“This year’s awards represent two parallel but linked trends. One is characterised by a dominant interest in the value of re-used existing buildings that benefit from regeneration. The other is the regenerative effect of new buildings themselves,” commented Graham Morrison, North West Regional Jury Chair.

“Though ‘ordinary’ buildings such as housing or offices are coming close to an award-winning level, they are, in their nature, ‘pathfinders’ and there is an understandable caution in their level of investment. This risk pattern favours the existing buildings that more obviously benefit from previous investment but when this caution is eclipsed by confidence, the truly exceptional emerges and this is evidenced by this year’s overall winner.” 

Maggie’s at the Robert Parfett Building, Manchester by Foster + Partners. Image ©Nigel YoungOldham Town Hall, Oldham by BDP. Image ©Paul KaraliusFinlays Warehouse, Manchester by Stephenson Studio. Image ©Andrew WallStubbs Mill, Manchester by Sixtwo Architects. Image ©Jason Byrne+ 35

RIBA Announces 2017 London Regional Award Winners

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has named 50 projects as winners of 2017 RIBA London Regional Awards, including the London Building of the Year, “Photography Studio for Juergen Teller” by 6a architects.

“The year has demonstrated once again the breadth of the capital’s architectural output at the very high level that the RIBA programme requires, and the juries took enormous pleasure in selecting a most exemplary set of schemes,” said Jury chair Matthew Lloyd.

Selected from a 85-strong shortlist, these 50 projects will now go on to compete in RIBA's National Awards program, the winners of which will create the shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize – the highest award for architecture in the UK.

© Iwan Baan. ImageTate Modern Switch House / Herzog & de Meuron© Jack Hobhouse. ImageThe Bartlett School of Architecture / Hawkins\Brown© Luke Hayes. ImageMathematics – The Winton Gallery / Zaha Hadid Architects© Lawrence Carlos. ImageHome Studio, Kilburn Lane / Studio McLeod+ 51

17 Projects Win 2017 RIBA East Awards

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has announced 17 winning projects in the 2017 RIBA East Awards. Topped by Walters & Cohen Architects' Vajrasana Buddhist Retreat Centre in Suffolk which won the RIBA East Building of the Year Award, these 17 regional winners will go on to compete in RIBA's national awards, with the best in the national awards ultimately going forward to compete for the Stirling Prize.

"It was just fabulous to see the diversity and exceptional quality of buildings around the region," said RIBA East Regional Director Louise Todd. "The jury had a really difficult task in selecting the winners, which says a lot for the strength of the shortlist and the creativity of the architects involved."

© Alan Williams© Johan Dehlin© Martine Hamilton Knight© Dirk Lindner+ 84

6 Projects Win 2017 RIBA West Midlands Awards

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has announced the first wave of their 2017 RIBA Regional Awards, beginning with the West Midlands region. Six projects were selected as winners from the region, which includes the city of Birmingham and its surrounding area.

“This year's winning projects prove that a good architecture should allow its user a space and time to absorb and to reflect,” commented Regional Jury Chair, Natalia Maximova. “The selected designs frame our experience of the buildings and spaces rather than dictate it. They highlight the fact that there is no true architecture without a clear vision and a strong concept. Originality remains a highly valued commodity and a source of inspiration for others and therefore should be recognised.

Alan Walters Building, University of Birmingham / Berman Guedes Stretton. Image © Quintin LakeCroft Lodge Studio, Leominster / Kate Darby Architects. Image © David ConnorRemembrance Centre, National Memorial Arboretum, Alrewas / Glenn Howells Architects. Image © Paul MillerJaguar Land Rover Engine Manufacturing Centre / Arup Associates. Image © Simon Kennedy+ 29

RIBA Awards 2015: Call For Entries

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) have today announced a call for entries to the 2015 RIBA Awards programme. The prestigious awards are designed to celebrate the best architecture projects that have been opened within the past two years. Projects of all sizes and budgets from across the UK (excluding those in Scotland) are eligible to be entered to the RIBA Regional Awards. Scottish projects can be entered into the RIAS Awards. Those that are successful in the regional rounds are made eligible to be considered for the RIBA Stirling Prize, one of the most coveted awards in the architectural world.

RIBA Regional Awards Spotlight Best of Southern UK

The winners of RIBA Regional Awards have been announced for the South, South East and South West regions. Among the awards were further successes for Wilkinson Eyre's Mary Rose Museum, and Adam Richards Architects' Ditchling Museum of Art and Craft, both of which were also recently featured on the UK Museum of the Year Shortlist.

The award winning projects will join winners from other regions to be considered for the 2014 RIBA Stirling Prize.

Read on after the break for all the winners from the three regions

Architecture Archive / Hugh Strange Architects. Image © Peter CookWedge House / SOUP Architects Ltd. Image © Andy MatthewsHilden Grange / Hawkins\Brown. Image © Tim CrockerUniversity of Oxford Mathematical Institute / Rafael Viñoly Architects+ 9

2014 RIBA London Awards

The winners of the 2014 RIBA London Awards were announced in a ceremony last night. The awards recognize the RIBA London Architect of the year and 2014 RIBA Emerging Architect of the Year (Haworth Tompkins and RCKa, respectively) as well as a host of project awards which join other regional awards to make up the longlist for the 2014 RIBA Stirling Prize.

Among the winners are Zaha Hadid's Aquatics Centre, which becomes the final Olympics project to shoot for the Stirling Prize now that its seating wings have been removed; the Shard; the renovation of the Tate Britain by Caruso St John; and the transformation of King's Cross by John McAslan + Partners. Read on after the break for a full list of winners.

Renovation of the Tate Britain / Caruso St John. Image © Helene BinetThe Shed / Haworth Tompkins. Image © Helene BinetLens House / Alison Brooks Architects. Image © Paul RiddleORTUS, Home of Maudsley Learning / Duggan Morris Architects. Image © Jack Hobhouse+ 8

RIBA's 2014 Regional Award Winners Announced

RIBA has announced the first round of RIBA Regional Award winners, all of which will be considered for the RIBA national awards. From the list, Mecanoo's Library of Birmingham takes center stage, as the artisan-inspired structure received a number of awards, including the West Midlands Building of the Year and Emerging Architect. Check out the complete list, after the break...