When Will the 2024 Pritzker Prize be Announced?

The official website of the Pritzker Prize has stated that the 2024 laureate will be announced on March 5 at 9 am EST. Granted annually, since 1979, to a living architect or architects with significant achievements to humanity and the built environment, the Pritzker Architecture Prize is considered to be "the profession’s highest honor."

True to its usual March announcement, the Pritzker Prize, established by the Pritzker family of Chicago through the Hyatt Foundation, has the purpose of "honoring a living architect or architects whose built work demonstrates a combination of those qualities of talent, vision, and commitment, which has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture".

The laureate receives a $100,000 grant, a formal citation certificate, and since 1987, a bronze medallion, based on designs of Louis Sullivan, the father of the skyscraper, with on one side the name of the prize, and on the other, the three famous words “firmness, commodity, and delight,” recalling Roman architect Vitruvius' fundamental principles of architecture of firmitas, utilitas, venustas. The award is conferred on the laureate/s at a ceremony held at an architecturally significant site throughout the world.

Related Article

Sir David Chipperfield Selected as the 2023 Laureate of the Pritzker Architecture Prize

Past Pritzker Prize laureates include some of architecture's most significant names, among them are Rem Koolhaas, Zaha Hadid, Oscar Niemeyer, Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa (SANAA), Norman Foster, Peter Zumthor, Alejandro Aravena, Balkrishna Doshi, Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara, Lacaton & Vassal, Francis Kéré and Sir David Chipperfield in 2023.

When Will the 2024 Pritzker Prize be Announced?  - Image 2 of 2
The bronze medallion awarded to each Laureate of the Pritzker Architecture Prize. Image Courtesy of Pritzker Architecture Prize

The Pritzker Architecture Prize jury members in 2024 are: 

  • Manuela Lucá-Dazio, Executive Director
  • Alejandro Aravena (Jury Chair), 2016 Pritzker Prize Laureate
  • Barry Bergdoll, curator, author, and Meyer Schapiro Professor of Art History and Archaeology at Columbia University.
  • Deborah Berke, architect and Dean of Yale School of Architecture
  • Stephen Breyer, U.S. Supreme Court Justice
  • André Aranha Corrêa do Lago, architectural critic, curator, and Brazilian Ambassador to India, Delhi.
  • Kazuyo Sejima, architect, educator, and 2010 Pritzker Prize Laureate.
  • Wang Shu, architect, educator, and 2012 Pritzker Prize Laureate

Stay tuned for more updates and ArchDaily’s comprehensive coverage of the Pritzker Prize 2024.

About this author
Cite: Christele Harrouk. "When Will the 2024 Pritzker Prize be Announced? " 16 Feb 2024. ArchDaily. Accessed . <https://www.archdaily.com/997075/when-will-the-2023-pritzker-prize-be-announced> ISSN 0719-8884

Museo Jumex/ David Chipperfield. Image © Simon Menges

2024 年普利兹克奖何时公布?

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.