the world's most visited architecture website

Sign up now and start saving and organizing your favorite architecture projects and photos

Sign up now to save and organize your favorite architecture projects


Find the most inspiring products for your projects in our Product Catalog.

Find the most inspiring products in our Product Catalog.


Get the ArchDaily Chrome Extension and be inspired with every new tab. Install here »


All over the world, architects are finding cool ways to re-use run-down old buildings. Click here to see the best in Refurbishment Architecture.

Want to see the coolest refurbishment projects? Click here.


Immerse yourself in inspiring buildings with our selection of 360 videos. Click here.

See our immersive, inspiring 360 videos. Click here.

Navigate articles using your keyboard
  1. ArchDaily
  2. News
  3. High Line Co-Founders Awarded Vincent Scully Prize

High Line Co-Founders Awarded Vincent Scully Prize

High Line Co-Founders Awarded Vincent Scully Prize
High Line Co-Founders Awarded Vincent Scully Prize, © Iwan Baan
© Iwan Baan

The National Building Museum has awarded the 15th Vincent Scully Prize to Joshua David and Robert Hammond, the founders of the High Line in New York. In 1999 the pair formed the non-profit organisation Friends of the High Line; this award recognizing their efforts in transforming the abandoned structure is the latest accolade for the internationally celebrated project. David and Hammond were also awarded the Jane Jacobs Medal in 2010.

Read more about the award and the High Line after the break.

© Iwan Baan
© Iwan Baan

As detailed by the National Building Museum's press release, "the High Line has inspired new thinking about the potential to repurpose unused industrial infrastructure into active public space." It has also sparked the redevelopment of Manhattan's West Side, with more than $2 Billion of investments in the neighborhood since the first part of the park opened in 2009.

Over the past few years, the High Line has become an international force in urban design, inspiring numerous projects hoping to emulate the social and economic success which have been seen in the original. Indeed, every few months it seems a new city is releasing details of plans for 'their own version of the High Line'.

Last year, the Vincent Scully prize was awarded to Paul Goldberger for “his lifetime work of encouraging thoughtful discourse and debate about the importance of design”.

Past recipients, listed with their affiliation at the time of their selection:

  • Vincent Scully, sterling professor emeritus of the History of Art at Yale University
  • Jane Jacobs, urbanist and author of The Nature of Economies
  • Andrés Duany and Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk, founders of Duany Plater-Zyberk & Co
  • Robert Venturi, FAIA and Denise Scott Brown, RIBA
  • His Highness the Aga Khan
  • His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales
  • Phyllis Lambert, architect, educator, philanthropist, and activist
  • Witold Rybczynski, architectural critic, author and essayist
  • Richard Moe, president of the National Trust for Historic Preservation
  • Robert A.M. Stern, dean of the Yale School of Architecture
  • Christopher Alexander, architect and author
  • Adele Chatfield-Taylor, president of the American Academy in Rome
  • William K. Reilly, former administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency
  • Paul Goldberger, architecture critic and contributing editor, Vanity Fair

About this author
Rory Stott
Cite: Rory Stott. "High Line Co-Founders Awarded Vincent Scully Prize" 26 Aug 2013. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884