AIA Honors Peter Eisenman with 2015 Topaz Medallion

AIA Honors Peter Eisenman with 2015 Topaz Medallion

Following Moshe Safdie’s selection to be the next AIA Gold Medalist, the American Institute of Architects’ (AIA) and Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) has announced Peter Eisenman, FAIA, as winner of the 2015 Topaz Medallion. Eisenman, known for a lifetime of scholarly work and his long associations with Princeton, Harvard, Cooper Union and Yale, will be honored for his global impact on architectural education after more than 60 years of teaching.

“There are probably very few schools of architecture where Peter is yet to have lectured,” wrote Marlon Blackwell, FAIA, in a recommendation letter. 

A Cornell and Columbia graduate, Eisenman has served as a visiting critic, lecture and professor at a number of prestigious universities worldwide. As the AIA describes, “the shadow cast by his tenure looms over generations of architects;” Tod Williams, Daniel Libeskind, Shigeru Ban, and another Topaz recipient, Harrison Fraker have all studied under him.

Eisenman’s accomplishments will be celebrated at the 2015 ACSA Annual Meeting in Toronto and at the 2015 AIA National Convention in Atlanta.

To learn more about Peter Eisenman, watch our exclusive ArchDaily interview with him below:

About this author
Cite: Karissa Rosenfield. "AIA Honors Peter Eisenman with 2015 Topaz Medallion " 10 Dec 2014. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.