Hegnhuset Memorial and Learning Center / Blakstad Haffner Arkitekter

© Are Carlsen© Are Carlsen© Espen Grønli© Espen Grønli+ 46

Adjaye, OMA and ZHA Among 13 Shortlisted for 2017 "Design of the Year"

The Design Museum in London has announced the shortlist projects in the running for the 2017 edition of their prestigious Beazley Design of the Year award. Now in its tenth year, the award was established to “celebrate design that promotes or delivers change, enables access, extends design practice or captures the spirit of the year.”

This year, a total of 62 projects have been nominated across six categories: Architecture, Digital, Fashion, Graphics, Product and Transport – including 13 projects from the Architecture category. A winner from each category and the overall winner will be announced on January 25, 2018. Previous winners of the architecture category include: IKEA’s Better Shelter last year (also the overall winner), Alejandro Aravena's UC Innovation Center in 2015, and Zaha Hadid Architects’ Heydar Aliyev Center (overall winner in 2014).

See all of the architecture nominees below.

Villa Vatnan / Nordic Office of Architecture

© visualis / m.c.herzog© Espen Grønli© visualis / m.c.herzog© Espen Grønli+ 28

Trondheim, Norway

Knowledge Center at St Olavs Hospital / Ratio Arkitekter AS and Nordic Office of Architecture

© Espen Grønli© M.Herzog Visualis© M.Herzog Visualis© M.Herzog Visualis+ 23

Trondheim, Norway

Skatt Øst / NSW AS

© Einar Aslaksen© Einar Aslaksen© Espen GrønliCourtesy of NSW+ 9

  • Architects: NSW AS
  • Area Area of this architecture project Area:  25000
  • Year Completion year of this architecture project Year:  2009

Rommen School and Cultural Center / Østengen & Bergo AS

© Østengen & Bergo AS© Østengen & Bergo AS© Østengen & Bergo AS© Østengen & Bergo AS+ 18