AIA LA Showcases Award Winners After Surge of Submissions

The American Institute of Architects Los Angeles (AIA|LA) just announced the winners of their 2017 Design Awards honoring Los Angeles based architects and architecture. The ceremony took place Monday, October 30th, at the Broad Stage in Santa Monica, recognizing each of the winners.

AIA LA Showcases Award Winners After Surge of Submissions - More Images+ 31

The awards include four groups of honorees, the 2017 AIA|LA Design Awards, 2017 AIA|LA Next LA Awards, the 2017 AIA|LA COTE Awards, and the 2017 AIA|LA Presidential Honorees. Each award has its own jury selected for their expertise specific to the award category. Three of the awards -- the Design Awards, Next LA Awards, and the COTE awards, each have three classifications: Honor, Merit and Citation, and the most prestigious of them, Honor.

Design - Merit: House Noir / Lorcan O'Herlihy Architects © Paul Vu

The AIA|LA Design Award celebrates the completed works. This year, SOM and Michael Maltzan Architecture received Honors in this category, while Dan Brunn Architecture, Gensler, Walker Workshop, and Lorcan O'Herlihy Architects received Merit recognition. The volume of submissions and the high caliber of work make the AIA|LA awards among the most competitive of AIA Chapter awards to win.

Design - Citation: Desert Palisades Guardhouse / Studio AR&D Architects © Lance Gerber

Unbuilt and under-construction projects are recognized with the 2017 AIA|LA Next LA Awards. The West Hollywood Belltower by Tom Wiscombe Architecture received Honors and the Merit recognition went to the Los Angeles Residence by Baumgartner + Uriu.

Next LA - Citation: St. Georges Church / PARALX ©Renati Mhanna
Next LA - Citation: Twin Villa / Patrick TIGHE Architecture & John V Mutlow Architects © Patrick Tighe Architecture

The Committee for the Environment (COTE) recognizes projects that implement sustainable features, judged on performance, systems integration, in addition to design. The committee gives the AIA|LA COTE Award, four receiving Honors: Mithun, ZGF Architects, SOM, and Brooks+Scarpa.

COTE - Honor: The SIX Veterans Housing / Brooks+Scarpa © Tara Wujick
COTE - Honor: J. Craig Venter Institute La Jolla / ZGF Architects, LLP © Hendrich Blessing

The final group recognized at the event are the Presidential Honorees. The Presidential Honorees are selected by the 2017 AIA|LA President, Douglas Teiger, along with the 2017 AIA|LA Board of Directors. “The AIA|LA is delighted to share these examples of design excellence with our greater community. Though each project receiving a design award is different, all demonstrate the possibilities that architects bring to our area: design that benefits individual lives and our society as a whole,” noted Executive Director Carlo Caccavale, Hon. AIA|LA.

Design - Merit: Oak Pass Main House / Walker Workshop © Joe Fletcher Photography
Next LA - Citation: Sberbank Technopark / Eric Owen Moss Architects Courtesy of AIA LA
Next LA - Citation: A4H Office Building / P-A-T-T-E-R-N-S courtesy of AIA LA

News via: (AIA|LA).

Image gallery

See allShow less
About this author
Cite: Samantha Buckley. "AIA LA Showcases Award Winners After Surge of Submissions" 10 Nov 2017. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.