Zoom image | View original size
The American Institute of Architects Los Angeles (AIA|LA) just announced the winners of their 2017 Design Awards honoring Los Angeles based architects and architecture. The ceremony took place Monday, October 30th, at the Broad Stage in Santa Monica, recognizing each of the winners. The awards include four groups of honorees, the 2017 AIA|LA Design Awards, 2017 AIA|LA Next LA Awards, the 2017 AIA|LA COTE Awards, and the 2017 AIA|LA Presidential Honorees. Each award has its own jury selected for their expertise specific to the award category. Three of the awards -- the Design Awards, Next LA Awards, and the COTE awards, each have three classifications: Honor, Merit and Citation, and the most prestigious of them, Honor. The AIA|LA Design Award celebrates the completed works. This year, SOM and Michael Maltzan Architecture received Honors in this category, while Dan Brunn Architecture, Gensler, Walker Workshop, and Lorcan O'Herlihy Architects received Merit recognition. The volume of submissions and the high caliber of work make the AIA|LA awards among the most competitive of AIA Chapter awards to win. View more View full description
Share Share