the world's most visited architecture website

Sign up now and start saving and organizing your favorite architecture projects and photos

Sign up now to save and organize your favorite architecture projects


Find the most inspiring products for your projects in our Product Catalog.

Find the most inspiring products in our Product Catalog.


Get the ArchDaily Chrome Extension and be inspired with every new tab. Install here »


All over the world, architects are finding cool ways to re-use run-down old buildings. Click here to see the best in Refurbishment Architecture.

Want to see the coolest refurbishment projects? Click here.


Immerse yourself in inspiring buildings with our selection of 360 videos. Click here.

See our immersive, inspiring 360 videos. Click here.

Navigate articles using your keyboard
  1. ArchDaily
  2. News
  3. Kazuyo Sejima Appointed as Newest Pritzker Prize Jury Member

Kazuyo Sejima Appointed as Newest Pritzker Prize Jury Member

Kazuyo Sejima Appointed as Newest Pritzker Prize Jury Member
Kazuyo Sejima Appointed as Newest Pritzker Prize Jury Member, © Dean Kaufman
© Dean Kaufman

Japanese architect Kazuyo Sejima, co-founder of Tokyo-based SANAA, has been appointed as the newest member of the Pritzker Prize Jury.

Sejima, the 2010 Pritzker Prize co-laureate, will help to decide the recipient of the 2018 Prize, the 40th edition of what has become known as the architecture world’s most prestigious honor.

© Takashi Okamoto
© Takashi Okamoto

Commenting on her nomination, Tom Pritzker, Chairman of Hyatt Foundation, said, “During her acceptance speech of the 2010 Pritzker Prize, Ms. Sejima remarked, ‘…this award is not only in recognition of our past works but rather an encouragement toward new architectural creations.’ It is this credence, alongside her international background and experience, that makes her a welcomed addition to the Jury.”

“I am looking forward to working with my colleagues on the jury and supporting the mission of the Pritzker Prize,” remarked Sejima.

Sejima will join 8 other jury members for the award, including:

The Executive Director of the Pritzker Prize is Martha Thorne.

The 2018 Laureate will be announced in March with an official ceremony in Toronto, Canada to follow this spring. For its 40th anniversary, the Prize has launched a new website,, and an expanded social media presence. Check them out on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

About this author
Patrick Lynch
Cite: Patrick Lynch. "Kazuyo Sejima Appointed as Newest Pritzker Prize Jury Member" 30 Jan 2018. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884
© Dean Kaufman


You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.