2-Million-Dollar LafargeHolcim Sustainable Design Competition—Closing Soon

2-Million-Dollar LafargeHolcim Sustainable Design Competition—Closing Soon

The 5th International LafargeHolcim Awards competition closes for entries on March 21, 2017 at 2pm UTC. It seeks projects at an advanced stage of design from the fields of architecture, building, and civil engineering; landscape and urban design; as well as materials, products and construction technologies. The Awards also feature a "Next Generation" category for visions and ideas of young professionals and students.

Organized by the LafargeHolcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction, the world’s most significant competition in sustainable design takes place in parallel across five geographic regions – each with its own jury of renowned and independent specialists. The juries are headed by Harry Gugger (Europe), Ray Cole (North America), Angelo Bucci (Latin America), Nagwa Sherif (Middle East Africa) and Donald Bates (Asia Pacific). (View the full list of jury members here).

Two Categories with Different Requirements

The main category of the competition is open to architects, planners, engineers, project owners, builders and construction firms showcasing sustainable responses within contemporary building and construction. Projects must have reached an advanced stage of design, have a high probability of execution, and may not have started construction before July 4, 2016.

In addition, students and professionals up to the age of 30 years may submit visionary concepts, bold ideas and “blue-sky” solutions in the "Next Generation" category of the competition, irrespective of the probability of implementation of the project.
Entry in the online competition is free: www.lafargeholcim-awards.org/enter

“Target Issues” for Sustainable Construction

Submissions are evaluated according to five “target issues” for sustainable construction – taking a holistic view of sustainability. The “target issues” cover innovation and transferability; ethical standards and social inclusion; resource and environmental performance; economic viability and compatibility; and contextual and aesthetic impact.

Winners Qualify for Global LafargeHolcim Awards Competition

The winners will be announced in the second half of 2017 at Awards ceremonies in each region. The main winners automatically qualify for the global LafargeHolcim Awards competition in 2018. The total prize money of the 5th International LafargeHolcim Awards cycle amounts to USD 2 million.

Further Information:

Text Message Html

Cite: "2-Million-Dollar LafargeHolcim Sustainable Design Competition—Closing Soon" 30 Jan 2017. ArchDaily. Accessed . <https://www.archdaily.com/804198/lafargeholcim-foundations-2-million-dollar-sustainable-design-competition-closes-soon> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.