Julia Peyton-Jones Wins Ada Louise Huxtable Prize

Julia Peyton-Jones Wins Ada Louise Huxtable Prize

Julia Peyton-Jones has won the 2016 Ada Louise Huxtable Prize. Awarded as part of the Architectural Review's (AR) annual Women in Architecture Awards, the prize honors Peyton-Jones' "incredible global impact achieved with limited resources – and as someone who has done so much to nurture architectural vision and make architecture available to many people."

Peyton-Jones has serves as the Serpentine Gallery co-director for the past 25 years, overseeing the start of the Serpentine Gallery Pavillon commissions and opening of Zaha Hadid Architects' Serpentine Sackler Gallery. She will step down from her longstanding position this summer.

As AR describes: "The Ada Louise Huxtable Prize recognizes individuals working in the wider architectural industry who have made a significant contribution to architecture and the built environment. It is named after architecture critic Ada Louise Huxtable, who made history by being the first full-time architecture critic at a US newspaper when she joined the New York Times. Client and architectural patron Jane Priestman won the inaugural award."

Peyton-Jones will speak at the annual Women in Architecture Awards luncheon on Friday 4 March at Claridge’s. You can learn more about that event, here.

About this author
Cite: Karissa Rosenfield. "Julia Peyton-Jones Wins Ada Louise Huxtable Prize" 26 Feb 2016. ArchDaily. Accessed . <https://www.archdaily.com/782731/julia-peyton-jones-wins-ada-louise-huxtable-prize> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.