40 Projects Shortlisted for the 2015 EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award

40 Projects Shortlisted for the 2015 EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award

Update: The five finalists for the 2015 Mies van der Rohe Award will be announced on February 25 at 12 UTC. 40 projects from 17 European countries have been shortlisted for the 2015 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award. Chosen from the 420 original nominees, five of the shortlisted projects will be chosen for the next round of selection, to be announced at the end of February in London. These selected architects will then present their projects before a committee on May 7, who will select one recipient of the highly esteemed international design award, as well as one recipient of the Emerging Architect Prize. The winners will be announced the following day at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona.

40 Projects Shortlisted for the 2015 EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award - More Images+ 36

The next round of the decision process will consist of the jury visiting each of the five finalists' designs to gain feedback from their occupants. Additionally, two publications showcasing the original 420 nominees and the five finalists will be presented at the final selection panel to recognize the stellar designs that have emerged in Europe over the past two years.

Of the remaining 40 projects, 40% of their programs represent cultural architecture, with lesser percentages representing educational, mixed use, religious, and urban works projects. This break-down is 16 Cultural, 4 Education, 3 Mixed Use, 3 Religious, 3 Urban, 2 Commercial, 2 Hotels, 2 Residential, 1 Funerary, 1 Landscape, 1 Single-family House, 1 Social Welfare, and 1 Sport of the shortlisted works.

The remaining 40 projects are the following:


2226 / Baumschlager Eberle Lustenau

2226. Image © Eduard Hueber


Hostel Wadi in Hoge Rielen / Studio Associato Bernardo Secchi-Paola Viganò

Hostel Wadi. Image © Frederik Buyckx


Immanuel Church / Sauerbruch Hutton

Immanuel Church. Image © Margot Gottschling

Gleisdreieck Park / Atelier Loidl

Gleisdreieck Park. Image © Julien Lanoo

R50 – Cohousing / Heide & Von Beckerath; Ifau und Jesko Fezer

R50 - Cohousing. Image © Andrew Alberts

Ravensburg Art Museum / Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei

Ravensburg Art Museum. Image © Roland Halbe


Vartov Square / Hall McKnight

Vartov Square. Image © Stamers Kontor

Moesgaard Museum / Henning Larsen Architects

Moesgaard Museum. Image © Jens Lindhe

Danish Maritime Museum / BIG - Bjarke Ingels Group

Danish Maritime Museum. Image © Rasmus Hjortshoj

Childrens Home of the Future / CEBRA architecture

Childrens Home Of The Future. Image © Mikkel Frost

Forfatterhuset Kindergarten / COBE

Forfatterhuset Kindergarten. Image © Rasmus Hjortshøj and Adam Mørk


Atrio - Relais Châteaux / Mansilla + Tuñón Arquitectos

Atrio, Relais Châteaux. Image © Luis Asín

Public Equipment: Urban Park and Transportation Hub / Ábalos + Sentkiewicz Arquitectos; Arquitectura Agronomia

Public Equipment: Urban Park And Transportation Hub. Image © José Hevia

Public Library / Paredes Pedrosa Arquitectos

Public Library In Ceuta. Image © Fernando Alda

Luz House / Arquitectura-g

Luz House. Image © José Hevia

Contemporary Art Centre / Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos

Contemporary Art Center. Image © Roland Halbe


Soulages Museum / RCR Arquitectes

Soulages Museum. Image © Pep Sau

FRAC - Regional Contemporary Artwork Collection / Lacaton & Vassal Architectes

Frac - Regional Contemporary Artwork Collection. Image © Philippe Ruault

Marseille Vieux Port / Foster + Partners

Marseille Vieux Port. Image © Nigel Young


Redevelopment of the New Waterfront / Nikiforidis-Cuomo Architects

Redevelopment Of The New Waterfront In Thessaloniki. Image © Prodromos Nikiforidis


University of Limerick, Medical School, Student Housing, Piazza and Pergola / Grafton Architects

University Of Limerick, Medical School, Student Housing, Piazza And Pergola. Image © Dennis Gilbert

Waterford Medieval Museum / Waterford City Council Architects

Waterford Medieval Museum. Image © Philip Lauterbach


H71a / Studio Granda

H71a. Image © Studio Granda


Expo Gate / Scandurra Studio Architettura

Expo Gate. Image © Filippo Romano

Antinori Winery / Archea Associati

Antinori Winery. Image © Pietro Savorelli


Rijksmuseum / Cruz Y Ortiz Arquitectos

Rijksmuseum. Image © Duccio Malagamba

Education Centre Erasmus Mc / Kaan Architecten

Education Center Erasmus Mc. Image © Bart Gosselin

De Rotterdam / OMA

De Rotterdam. Image © Ossip van Duivenbode

Rozet, Culture House / Neutelings Riedijk Architects

Rozet, Cultural House. Image © Scagliola Brakkee


Silesian Museum / Riegler Riewe Architekten

Silesian Museum. Image © Paolo Rosselli

Philarmonic Hall Szczecin / BarozziVeiga; Studio A4

Philarmonic Hall Szczecin. Image © Simon Menges

Museum of the History of Polish Jews / Architects Lahdelma & Mahlamäki

Museum Of The History Of Polish Jews. Image © Pawel Paniczko


Arquipélago - Contemporary Arts Centre / Francisco Vieira de Campos, Cristina Guedes (Menos é Mais Arquitectos) and João Mendes Ribeiro (João Mendes Ribeiro Arquitecto)

Arquipélago - Contemporary Arts Centre. Image © Francisco Vieira de Campos, Cristina Guedes (Menos é Mais Arquitectos) and João Mendes Ribeiro (João Mendes Ribeiro Arquitecto)

High Performance Rowing Centre / SpacialAR-TE

High Performance Rowing Center. Image © Fernando Guerra | FG+SG


'Urban Spaces' Dogarilor Apartment Building / ADN Birou de Arhitectura

'urban Spaces' Dogarilor Apartment Building. Image © Cosmin Dragomir


The New Crematorium of the Woodland Cemetery / Johan Celsing Arkitektkontor

The New Crematorium Of The Woodland Cemetery. Image © Ioana Marinescu


Sancaklar Mosque / EAA - Emre Arolat Architects

Sancaklar Mosque. Image © Thomas Mayer


Saw Swee Hock Student Centre, London School of Economics / O’Donnell + Tuomey

Saw Swee Hock Student Centre, London School Of Economics. Image © Dennis Gilbert

Everyman Theatre / Haworth Tompkins

Everyman Theatre. Image © Haworth Thompkins

Bishop Edward King Chapel / Niall McLaughlin Architects

Bishop Edward King Chapel. Image © Niall McLaughlin Architects
About this author
Cite: Holly Giermann. "40 Projects Shortlisted for the 2015 EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award" 23 Feb 2015. ArchDaily. Accessed . <https://www.archdaily.com/597122/40-projects-shortlisted-for-the-2015-eu-prize-for-contemporary-architecture-nil-mies-van-der-rohe-award> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.