the world's most visited architecture website

Sign up now and start saving and organizing your favorite architecture projects and photos

Sign up now to save and organize your favorite architecture projects


Find the most inspiring products for your projects in our Product Catalog.

Find the most inspiring products in our Product Catalog.


Get the ArchDaily Chrome Extension and be inspired with every new tab. Install here »


All over the world, architects are finding cool ways to re-use run-down old buildings. Click here to see the best in Refurbishment Architecture.

Want to see the coolest refurbishment projects? Click here.


Immerse yourself in inspiring buildings with our selection of 360 videos. Click here.

See our immersive, inspiring 360 videos. Click here.

Navigate articles using your keyboard
  1. ArchDaily
  2. News
  3. 2014 ArchDaily Building of the Year Awards: The Finalists

2014 ArchDaily Building of the Year Awards: The Finalists

2014 ArchDaily Building of the Year Awards: The Finalists

After an intense week of nominations, the collective intelligence of ArchDaily has evaluated over 3,500 projects and narrowed down the list to 5 finalists per category.

We were very happy to see the level of participation from our readers - over 15,000 individuals expressed what architecture means to them through the buildings they chose. 

And we have to congratulate you, as the finalists are outstanding. From all over the world, by firms of all sizes and trajectories, ranging from community-built projects to large scale complex programs, these buildings all have one thing in common: excellent architecture that can improve people’s lives.

You can vote for your favorite projects starting today and until January 30th, 2014 (read the complete rules).

Remember that the two projects with the most votes will receive an HP Designjet T520 ePrinter, and that we are going to give away two iPad Minis to our readers during the final voting stage. 

The winners of the two iPad Minis from the nomination stage are: Shelby Nease and Kristen Johnson (you’ll receive an email shorty). 

Make your voice heard - vote for your favorite projects for the 2014 Building of the Year Awards!

Edgeland House / Bercy Chen Studio 
House GePo / Open Y Office 
Cube House / Studio MK27 - Marcio Kogan + Suzana Glogowski  
Two Hulls / Mackay-Lyons Sweetapple Architects  
Binh Thanh House / Vo Trong Nghia Architects + Sanuki + Nishizawa architects 

Hoogvliet / VMX Architects
Luna Apartments / Elenberg Fraser  
Social Housing in Madrid / Iñaqui Carnicero Architecture Office
Row-Houses in Bom Sucesso / Inês Lobo Arquitectos
Tete in L'air / KOZ Architectes 

PARKROYAL on Pickering / WOHA  
Kontum Indochine Café / Vo Trong Nghia Architects 
De Lemos / Carvalho Araújo, Arquitectura e Design 
Red Pepper House / Urko Sanchez Architects  
Tree Snake Houses / Luís Rebelo de Andrade + Tiago Rebelo de Andrade 

Basic And Secondary School Of Sever Do Vouga / Pedro Domingos Arquitectos 
After-School Child Care Gistel / Buro II & Archi+I  
Krishna P. Singh Center for Nanotechnology / WEISS/MANFREDI 
Vol Walker Hall & the Steven L Anderson Design Center / Marlon Blackwell Architect
Braamcamp Freire / CVDB arquitectos 

Technogym Village / Antonio Citterio Patricia Viel and Partners 
48 North Canal Road / WOHA 
Shenzhen Stock Exchange HQ / OMA
Aquitanis Headquarters / Platform Architectures 
PGE GiEk Concern Headquarters / FAAB Architektura Adam Bialobrzeski | Adam Figurski

Walmart Sao Paulo / Estudio Guto Requena
Office-Garage / Ultra Architects 
Pulsate / Lily Jencks + Nathanael Dorent 
FINE / Boora Architects 
Consexto Lab / consexto 

N10-Eiras Sports Facility / Comoco 
Lille Modern Art Museum / Manuelle Gautrand Architecture 
Ataranzas Municipal Market Restoration Project / Aranguren & Gallegos Arquitectos 
Factory Jaffa House / Pitsou Kedem Architects 
Three Cusps Chalet / Tiago do Vale Arquitectos 

Theatre 95 / gpaa 
The Blue Planet / 3XN 
House of the Arts / Future Architecture Thinking  
Heydar Aliyev Center / Zaha Hadid Architects 
Danish National Maritime Museum / BIG 

Fire Station in Santo Tirso / Alvaro Siza 
Autostadt Roof and Service Pavilion / Graft Architects  
Metro Cable Caracas / Urban-Think Tank  
Newbern Town Hall / Auburn University Rural Studio 
Pedestrian Bridge / Miró Rivera Architects  

Wanangkura Stadium / ARM Architecture 
Pasarón Stadium / ACXT Arquitectos 
Gammel Hellerup Gymnasium / BIG 
Archery Hall & Boxing Club / FT Architects
Jornalista Mário Filho Stadium – Maracanã / Fernandes Arquitetos Associados 

Cistercian Abbey Church / Cunningham Architects
Saint John Baptist Chapel / Alejandro Beautell
Forest Chapel / Hironaka Ogawa & Associates
Chapel of St Albert the Great / Simpson & Brown
Interior Remodeling of St. Moritz Church / John Pawson 

Hotchkiss Biomass Power Plant / Centerbrook Architects and Planners 
Arteche High Voltage Laboratory / ACXT Arquitectos 
Chateau Cheval Blanc Winer / Christian de Portzamparc 
Antinori Winery / Archea Associati 
Hydro-electric Powerstation / becker architekten

Chiyodanomori Dental Clinic / Hironaka Ogawa 
ASU Health Service / Lake Flato Architects 
Hospital in Puyo / Pm, Mt 
SOGA - Sounds of Gaia / casaPública 
Alcácer do Sal Residences / Aires Mateus

Coach Omotesando Flagship / OMA 
Emporia / Wingårdhs 
Loja Fernando Jaeger / SuperLimão Studio 
Mercat Encants / b720 Fermín Vázquez Arquitectos 
Fuel Station + McDonalds / Giorgi Khmaladze 

About this author
David Basulto
Cite: David Basulto. "2014 ArchDaily Building of the Year Awards: The Finalists" 23 Jan 2014. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884
Read comments