Denton Corker Marshall To Design First 21st Century Pavilion in Venice’s Giardini

© Denton Corker Marshall

Australia’s new pavilion for the 2015 Art Biennale will be, in the words of featured artist , “a minefield of madness, badness, and sadness in equal measure.” Designed by firm Denton Corker Marshall, (who also designed the Stonehenge Visitor Centre), the project will replace the 25 year old temporary pavilion designed by Phillip Cox and will be the first building constructed on the Giardini in two decades. 

Australian Plant Bank / BVN Donovan Hill

© John Gollings

Architects: BVN Donovan Hill
Location: Mount Annan, NSW,
Architect In Charge: Alex Chaston
Project Director: Peter Titmuss
Project Principal: James Grose
Year: 2013
Photographs: John Gollings

Australian Institute of Architects 2014 Northern Territory Awards Winners Announced

Strohmayr House / Troppo Architects. Image © Fiona Morrison

The winners of the Australian Institute of Architects‘ 2014 Northern Territory were announced last night – continuing a strong year for Troppo Architects, who won four awards to add to their Gold Medal, which they received in March. Troppo took home the Territory’s top award, the Tracy Memorial Award, in addition to the COLORBOND® Award for Steel Architecture, the Enduring Architecture Award, and the award for Residential Alterations & Additions.

Other winners on the night included Mode Design and Dunn & Hillam Architects, who each took home one award and one commendation. Neeson Murcutt Architects also bagged a Small Projects Award just a day after a very successful outing in the New South Wales Awards.

Read on after the break for all the winners

Australian Institute of Architects Announces 2014 NSW Awards

One Central Park / PTW Architects + Atelier Jean Nouvel. Image © Simon Wood

The Australian Institute of Architects announced its 2014 NSW Architecture in a ceremony held in Sydney last night. Among the 42 Awards and 18 Commendations given out, perhaps the biggest winner was Neeson Murcutt Architects, whose Prince Alfred Park + Pool Upgrade won the Sulman Medal for Public Architecture, the Lloyd Rees Award for Urban Architecture, and was a joint winner of the City of Sydney Lord Mayor’s Prize.

In awarding the scheme by Neeson Murcutt Architects, the jury noted that it was “a rare synthesis of art and landscape, urban design and architecture” making the experience ”a delight in every detail.”

See the full list of 69 Awards, Prizes and Commendations after the break

Bambara Street / Shaun Lockyer Architects

© Scott Burrows

Architects: Shaun Lockyer Architects
Location: North , Queensland, Australia
Architect In Charge: Shaun Lockyer
Project Architect: Neva Wethereld
Area: 325 sqm
Year: 2013
Photographs: Scott Burrows

Boarding House / Shaun Lockyer Architects

© Scott Burrows

Architects: Shaun Lockyer Architects
Location: River, Queensland, Australia
Architect In Charge: Shaun Lockyer
Project Architect: Neva Wethereld
Year: 2013
Photographs: Scott Burrows

Birralee Primary School / Kerstin Thompson Architects

© Derwek Swalwell

Architects: Kerstin Thompson Architects
Location: , VIC,
Design Team: Kerstin Thompson, Kelley Mackay, Tim Heron, Lynn Chew, Michael Archibald, William Samuels
Program & Project Management: Arup
Year: 2013
Photographs: Derwek Swalwell

Wertheim Factory Conversion / Kerstin Thompson Architects

© Derek Swalwell

Architects: Kerstin Thompson Architects
Location: 22/50 Bendigo Street, Melbourne, VIC,
Photographs: Derek Swalwell, Shannon McGrath

Elwood House / Robert Nichol & Sons

© Michael Evans

Architects: Robert Nichol & Sons
Location: , VIC,
Design Team: David Nicholson, Brett Robertson, Vonne Yang, Jason Chongue, Fiona Plaisted
Area: 248 sqm
Year: 2013
Photographs: Michael Evans

St Kilda West / Kennedy Nolan

© Derek Swalwell

Architects: Kennedy Nolan
Location: , VIC,
Design Team: Matilda Blazey, Rachel Nolan, Patrick Kennedy
Year: 2013
Photographs: Derek Swalwell

SIEC / MPH Architects

© David Sievers

Architects: MPH Architects
Location: TAFE SA Tonsley Campus, 1284 South Road, SA 5042, Australia
Architect In Charge: Tony Materne
Project Leader: Peter Hoare
Design Team: Thomas Hansen, Vicki Jacobs, Carlo Pennino, Tonia Mudie, Sally Bostock, Matt Spinaze, Daniel Pike, James Jones, Maureen Fry, Diana Thompson
Area: 43000.0 sqm
Year: 2013
Photographs: David Sievers

Sneakerboy Store / March Studio

© Peter Bennetts

Architects: March Studio
Location: Little Bourke Street, Melbourne VIC,
Area: 70 sqm
Year: 2014
Photographs: Peter Bennetts

Fairbairn House / Inglis Architects

© Derek Swalwell

Architects: Inglis Architects
Location: VIC,
Area: 230 sqm
Year: 2013
Photographs: Derek Swalwell

KUD STUDIO / Kavellaris Urban Design

© Peter Clarke

Architects: Kavellaris Urban Design
Location: Balmain Street, Cremorne, VIC,
Year: 2014
Photographs: Peter Clarke

374 Hamilton / Bourne Blue Architects

© Shane Blue

Architects: Bourne Blue Architects
Location: Newcastle NSW,
Area: 165 sqm
Year: 2014
Photographs: Shane Blue

Hotel Hotel Lobby and Nishi Grand Stair Interior / March Studio

© John Gollings

Architects: March Studio
Location: 25 Edinburgh Avenue, Canberra ACT 2601,
Design Team: Rodney Eggleston, Sam Rice, Julian Canterbury, Jack Crocker, Jono Ware, Haslett Grounds, Patrick Macasaet
Photographs: John Gollings, Courtesy of , Rodney Eggleston

Australian Institute of Architects Announces Winner of 2014 ACT Awards

Sir John Overall Award for Urban Design – National Arboretum Canberra by Tonkin Zulaikha Greer and Taylor Cullity Lethlean. Image © Brett Boardman

The Australian Institute of Architects have announced 35  out of a record 51 entries for the ACT Architecture Awards. The star of the show was Tonkin Zulaikha Greer’s (TZG) National Arboretum, which after winning the 2013 Romaldo Giurgola Award for Public Architecture last year received the highest prize of the Canberra Medallion.

Other awards included an Enduring Architecture award for Enrico Taglietti’s 1979 project ‘Apostolic Nunciature’; and the Australian National University Australian Centre on China in the World by Munns Sly Moore in association with Mo Atelier Szeto – which won the Romaldo Giurgola Award for Public Architecture, the Art in Architecture Prize and a commendation in the INLITE Light in Architecture Prize.

Read on after the break for the full list of awards

Make Architects Picked for Sydney’s Wynyard Station Overhaul

Courtesy of

Make Architects have been selected from a shortlist of five practices to renovate the area around Sydney‘s Wynyard Station, beating SOM, Grimshaw, Bates Smart and Ingenhoven to the $1 billion project.

The scheme, called One Carrington Street, involves the renovation of the historic Shell House, creation of a new 27-story, 58,000 square metre office tower, a new eastern transit hall for Wynyard Station including 5,000 square metres of retail space, and a new grand entrance to Wynyard Station from George and Carrington Streets.

More on the scheme after the break