Rachel Whiteread Wins 2017 Ada Louise Huxtable Prize

Rachel Whiteread Wins 2017 Ada Louise Huxtable Prize

Artist Rachel Whiteread has won the 2017 Ada Louise Huxtable Prize, which recognizes individuals working in the wider architectural industry who have made a significant contribution to architecture and the built environment. Whiteread was selected by respondents to the Architectural Review’s Women In Architecture: Working in Architecture survey.

Some of Whiteread’s notable work includes her 1993 Turner Prize-winning House, her collaboration with architects like Caruso St John on the UK Holocaust Memorial International Design Competition, and her participation on the RIBA Stirling Prize 2016 jury.

Rachel Whiteread’s Cabin on Discovery Hill. Image © Tim Schenck

“Rachel Whiteread is an important influence and inspiration to the profession and richly deserving of the Ada Louise Huxtable Prize,” said Christine Murray, editor-in-chief of The Architectural Review and The Architects’ Journal.

As the third winner of the annual prize, Whiteread follows former director of the Serpentine Galeries Julia Peyton-Jones and client and architectural patron Jane Priestman.

News via: The Architectural Review (AR).

Image gallery

See allShow less
About this author
Cite: Sabrina Santos. "Rachel Whiteread Wins 2017 Ada Louise Huxtable Prize" 09 Feb 2017. ArchDaily. Accessed . <https://www.archdaily.com/804829/rachel-whiteread-wins-2017-ada-louise-huxtable-prize> ISSN 0719-8884

Caruso St John (UK) with artist Rachel Whiteread. Image © Caruso St John Architects, Marcus Taylor and Rachel Whiteread & Malcolm Reading Consultants

雷切尔·怀特瑞德获得2017年Ada Louise Huxtable奖

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.