2016 Brick in Architecture Award Winners Announced

2016 Brick in Architecture Award Winners Announced

The Brick Industry Association (BIA) has announced the results of the 2016 Brick in Architecture Awards, given to “the country’s most visionary projects incorporating fired-clay brick.” This year, there were a total of 32 medalists with Best in Class winners in seven categories: Commercial, Educational (Higher Education), Educational (K-12), Healthcare, Municipal/Government, Residential (Multifamily) and Residential (Single Family).

“These winners demonstrate the best of brick’s aesthetic flexibility, and as a material made from abundant natural resources, it’s a perfect strategy in sustainable design,” said Ray Leonhard, BIA’s president and CEO.

Read on for the Best in Class winners:

Educational – Higher Education

Prairie View A&M Agriculture and Business, Prairie View, TX / Overland Partners

© Richard Payne FAIA
© Richard Payne FAIA

Educational – K-12

Intermediate School 230Q Annex, Queens, NY / John Ciardullo Associates, P.C.

© Anna-Marie Kellen


Baylor Surgical Hospital at Fort Worth, Fort Worth, TX / Page Southerland Page, Inc.

© Peter Calvin
© Peter Calvin


Millwood Fire Station, Millwood, NY / Ohlhausen DuBois Architects

© Mark DuBois
© Mark DuBois


Old Parkland Campus, Dallas, TX / Beck Architecture, LLC

© Casey Dunn

Residential – Multi Family

46-09 Eleventh St., Long Island City, NY / GF55 Partners

© Timothy Hutto
© Timothy Hutto

Residential – Single Family

New Georgian Revival Home – Greenwich, CT / Charles Hilton Architects

© Nicholas Rotondi Photography

This year’s judges included Steve Berg, BWBR; Fiske Crowell, Sasaki Associates; Kristin Hawkins, Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects; David Meleca, David B. Meleca Architects, LLC; Clint Rigsby, SeamonWhiteside and Fernando Villa, Magnusson Architecture and Planning, PC.

The complete list of winners, a brief video trailer, and a photo gallery of all winning projects are available on BIA’s website.

About this author
Cite: Patrick Lynch. "2016 Brick in Architecture Award Winners Announced" 27 Jul 2016. ArchDaily. Accessed . <https://www.archdaily.com/792183/2016-brick-in-architecture-award-winners-announced> ISSN 0719-8884

2016 砖结构建筑大奖

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.