1. ArchDaily
  2. Bia

Bia: The Latest Architecture and News

Call for Entries: 2019 Brick in Architecture Awards

The Brick Industry Association (BIA) has opened its entries for the 2019 Brick in Architecture Awards—now celebrating 30 years as the nation’s leading architectural design competition featuring fired-clay brick. Entries are due by Oct. 31.

With a history of stunning, innovative and unusual design, all submissions must use clay brick as the project’s primary building material.

“We’re excited to showcase outstanding design that demonstrates brick’s virtually unlimited aesthetic freedom and sustainability,” said BIA President Ray Leonhard.

As the competition rules state, entrants must be either an architect or designer employed by an architectural, design-build or landscaping design firm. Any

Call for Entries: 2017 Brick in Architecture Awards

The Brick Industry Association (BIA) has opened its call for entries for the 2017 Brick in Architecture Awards, the country’s premiere architectural design competition featuring clay brick.

BIA’s annual awards honor outstanding, innovative and sustainable architecture in 10 categories that incorporate clay brick products as the predominant exterior building or paving material.

Entries must be submitted online by April 30. Projects will be judged by a jury of peers, and the winners will be announced in June.

2016 Brick in Architecture Award Winners Announced

The Brick Industry Association (BIA) has announced the results of the 2016 Brick in Architecture Awards, given to “the country’s most visionary projects incorporating fired-clay brick.” This year, there were a total of 32 medalists with Best in Class winners in seven categories: Commercial, Educational (Higher Education), Educational (K-12), Healthcare, Municipal/Government, Residential (Multifamily) and Residential (Single Family).

“These winners demonstrate the best of brick’s aesthetic flexibility, and as a material made from abundant natural resources, it’s a perfect strategy in sustainable design,” said Ray Leonhard, BIA’s president and CEO.

Read on for the Best in Class winners:

Call for Entries: 2016 Brick in Architecture Awards

The Brick Industry Association (BIA) encourages entries for its 2016 Brick in Architecture Awards through April 30.

Architectural and design firms from around the country can enter their best material to be judged by a jury of their peers.

Any work of architecture completed since January 1, 2011, in which new clay brick products comprise the predominant exterior building or paving material (over 50 percent), is eligible. These include face or hollow brick, building brick, thin brick, paving brick, glazed brick, structural glazed facing tile, new clay brick products in special shapes and/or a combination of any of these aforementioned units.

Norman Foster Receives Inaugural BIA Award in Bilbao

On the 26th of September, Norman Foster will be at the Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao as the inaugural recipient of the very first BIA (Bilbao Bizkaia Architecture) Award. Recognizing Foster's contribution towards the development of Bizkaia through architecture and urban regeneration, the prize highlights Foster's iconic original design for the Metro Bilbao stations in the Basque Country.