the world's most visited architecture website

Sign up now and start saving and organizing your favorite architecture projects and photos

Sign up now to save and organize your favorite architecture projects


Find the most inspiring products for your projects in our Product Catalog.

Find the most inspiring products in our Product Catalog.


Get the ArchDaily Chrome Extension and be inspired with every new tab. Install here »


All over the world, architects are finding cool ways to re-use run-down old buildings. Click here to see the best in Refurbishment Architecture.

Want to see the coolest refurbishment projects? Click here.


Immerse yourself in inspiring buildings with our selection of 360 videos. Click here.

See our immersive, inspiring 360 videos. Click here.

Navigate articles using your keyboard
  1. ArchDaily
  2. News
  3. MCHAP Announces Nominees for their 2014/2015 Prizes

MCHAP Announces Nominees for their 2014/2015 Prizes

MCHAP Announces Nominees for their 2014/2015 Prizes
MCHAP Announces Nominees for their 2014/2015 Prizes

The Mies Crown Hall Americas Prize has announced the nominees for this year's MCHAP awards, the biennial prize hosted by the Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT) to award the best projects in the Americas. Following on from their inaugural prize in 2014 which awarded the best projects of the 21st century up to 2013, this year's awards will focus on the best architecture from 2014 and 2015, and the nominee list features 175 projects in the main MCHAP awards and 55 in the MCHAP.emerge awards.

In 2014, the prize was shared by Álvaro Siza's Iberê Camargo Foundation and Herzog & de Meuron’s 1111 Lincoln Road, while the MCHAP.emerge prize was won by Pezo von Ellrichshausen's for their Poli House. The winners of the two prizes this year will join this short and prestigious list, and also receive funding of $50,000 and $25,000, respectively, in support of research and a publication related to the theme of "Rethinking Metropolis." You can view the full list of nominees of the MCHAP award here, and the full list of nominees for the MCHAP.emerge prize here.

MCHAP Announces Nominees for their 2014/2015 Prizes

In addition to the announcement of the nominees, the Mies Crown Hall Americas Prize also outlined the timeline for the award this year, which includes the MCHAP.emerge Symposium and Winner Announcement on April 1, 2016, the MCHAP Finalist Announcement in late June, and the announcement of the MCHAP winner at a symposium on October 19, 2016. They also announced the creation of a new award, the MCHAP.student award, inviting a network of schools in the Americas to submit the best work from students graduating in 2015 or 2016.

News via MCHAP.

Correction Update: This article was updated on March 12th to clarify the purpose of the MCHAP and MCHAP.emerge awards' prize funds. The graduation dates for students eligible for the MCHAP.student award was also changed; it previously stated incorrectly that students graduating in 2014 or 2015 were eligible.

About this author
Rory Stott
Cite: Rory Stott. "MCHAP Announces Nominees for their 2014/2015 Prizes" 11 Mar 2016. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.