2016 AIA Thomas Jefferson Award Given to Hans Butzer

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) has selected Hans Butzer as the recipient of the 2016 Thomas Jefferson Award for Public Architecture. The award recognizes excellence in architectural advocacy and achievement in the public realm. Learn more about Butzer, after the break.

Butzer’s work has directly propagated the transformation of Oklahoma City in the early 21st century, with projects such as the Oklahoma City National Memorial, and the Oklahoma City Skydance Bridge. By embedding himself in public boards, commissions and committees, he has consistently demonstrated dedication to a participatory design process necessary to produce a successful city. He is a true “citizen architect”: a practitioner and educator that demonstrates throughout his work that architecture can enhance communities and cities, according to the jury.

The 2016 Jury:

  • Drew White, FAIA (Chair), Axis Architecture & Interiors
  • Ric Bell, FAIA, City of New York, Department of Design and Construction
  • Sarah Dirsa, AIA, KG&D Architects
  • Daniel Feil, FAIA, Dwight D. Eisenhower Memorial Commission
  • Jennifer Penner, Assoc. AIA, Studio Southwest Architects, Inc.

Butzer will be honored at the 2016 AIA National Convention in Philadelphia.

Learn more about the award and Butzer here.

About this author
Cite: Eric Oh. "2016 AIA Thomas Jefferson Award Given to Hans Butzer" 07 Feb 2016. ArchDaily. Accessed . <https://www.archdaily.com/781322/2016-aia-thomas-jefferson-award-given-to-hans-butzer> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.