the world's most visited architecture website

Sign up now and start saving and organizing your favorite architecture projects and photos

Sign up now to save and organize your favorite architecture projects


Find the most inspiring products for your projects in our Product Catalog.

Find the most inspiring products in our Product Catalog.


Get the ArchDaily Chrome Extension and be inspired with every new tab. Install here »


All over the world, architects are finding cool ways to re-use run-down old buildings. Click here to see the best in Refurbishment Architecture.

Want to see the coolest refurbishment projects? Click here.


Immerse yourself in inspiring buildings with our selection of 360 videos. Click here.

See our immersive, inspiring 360 videos. Click here.

Navigate articles using your keyboard
  1. ArchDaily
  2. News
  3. Winner of Yeats2015 "The Lake Isle of Innisfree" Announced

Winner of Yeats2015 "The Lake Isle of Innisfree" Announced

Winner of Yeats2015 "The Lake Isle of Innisfree" Announced
Winner of Yeats2015 "The Lake Isle of Innisfree" Announced, © shindesignworks
© shindesignworks

Yong ho Shin and John Randle of shindesignworks have been announced as the winners of "The Lake Isle of Innisfree," a design competition held earlier this year as part of the Yeats2015 festival. Based in London and Daegu, South Korea, the pair of architects proposed "Square Moon," a light-based installation for the Irish Island about which Yeats wrote his eponymous1892 poem, and from which the competition took its name.

Combining a sturdy aluminum frame with glowing lantern light, Square Moon is striking in its simplicity. Nestled along the island's coastline, the intervention is envisioned as a beacon for boats afloat in the surrounding waters. Ho Shin and Randle's winning entry will be temporarily installed on the Isle of Innisfree for Yeats Day on June 13 this year, as a "gift" on what would have been the poet's 150th birthday.

Following the closure of the festival, the structure will be relocated to the campus of IT Sligo, where it will permanently reside.

© shindesignworks
© shindesignworks

"[T]he Institute is delighted to help create an important cultural legacy in this very special year for Yeats," said Professor Vincent Cunnane, President of IT Sligo, "We're honored to be the permanent home for this new creative installation. It's the Institute's hope that its presence on our campus will help foster an enduring connection with Yeats amongst our young student population."

Sketch. Image © shindesignworks
Sketch. Image © shindesignworks

The announcement was made at the official launch of Yeats Day 2015 at The Model in Sligo , following a three month competition which ran from January to March. View our previous coverage of the competition here.

View the complete gallery

About this author
Patricia Arcilla
Cite: Patricia Arcilla. "Winner of Yeats2015 "The Lake Isle of Innisfree" Announced" 14 Apr 2015. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.