Brick Award 2016: Call for Entries!

The Wienerberger Brick Award is a biannual architectural award that is presented to outstanding examples of modern and innovative brick architecture. In 2016, Wienerberger will present this internationally established award for the seventh time, and the award is now open for submissions. Architecture critics, journalists and for the first time also architects themselves can submit projects online until March 31, 2015. The official Brick Award ceremony will take place in Vienna in spring 2016.

The Award acknowledges innovative brick buildings of international quality that show the varied and diverse ways brick can be used in contemporary architecture. At the same time, the award, and in particular the accompanying architectural book, gives people with an interest in architecture, as well as experts, an overview of current developments and trends in international brick architecture with its remarkable range of applications.


The award comprises five categories:

  •        Residential Use
  •        Public Use
  •        Re-Use
  •        Urban Infill
  •        Sustainable Integration

Assessment criteria include innovative exterior design and skillful use of brick as a material, along with functionality, sustainability and energy efficiency. Possible applications range from building solutions with classic clay building blocks and facing bricks to the creative use of ceramic façade panels, roof tiles and clay pavers. Special attention is directed to how the building blends in with the surroundings as well as to the form, aesthetics and general quality of the architecture. The use of Wienerberger products is not a necessary condition for participation. The award is endowed with prize money of 7,000 Euros for one Grand Prize Winner (incl. Category Winner) and 5,000 Euros for four Category Winners.

A panel of architecture journalists and critics will narrow down the number of all entries to 50 projects, which are nominated for the Wienerberger Brick Award 2016. Subsequently, an international jury of architects will select the winners in the single categories.


The jury comprises internationally renowned architects from Italy, UK, France, Belgium and Slovenia:

  •        Laura Andreini, Archea Associati, Italy
  •        Johan Anrys, 51N4E, Belgium
  •        Matija Bevk, bevk perovic arhitekti, Slovenia
  •        Edouard François, Maison Edouard François, France
  •        Alfred Munkenbeck, Munkenbeck + Partners, UK


As in the past years, Wienerberger together with the prestigious Callwey Publishing House, will produce the comprehensive book entitled “Brick ’16”, featuring all 50 nominated and award-winning projects. This beautifully designed book will be published at the time of the official Brick Award ceremony in spring 2016.

About this author
Cite: Sponsored Post. "Brick Award 2016: Call for Entries!" 02 Mar 2015. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.