AIA Announces Three Award Recipents

The American Institute of Architects recently announced that three of its distinguished members have been awarded some of the Institute's top honors. Each recipient has made significant contributions to the advancement of the architectural profession or education, helping to shape the field for future generations. The awards include the 2014 AIA/ACSA Topaz Medallion, the 2014 Whitney M. Young Jr. Award, and the 2014 Edward C. Kemper Award. Read more about the recipients after the break...

2014 AIA/ACSA Topaz Medallion for Excellence in Architectural Education

Courtesy of American Institute of Architects

The Board of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) and the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) named Harrison Fraker. Assoc. AIA, as the 2014 recipient of the Topaz Medallion. Fraker, a professor of architecture at the University of California, Berkeley, pushed the study of energy use in buildings through his pioneering vision and in-depth research in building sciences. He helped further academic curriculum addressing energy-conserving, climate-responsive design, receiving the largest curriculum-development grant ever awarded by the Department of Energy. Last year he was appointed chair of the UC Berkeley Energy and Resources Group and he continues to teach undergraduate and graduate studios in the United States and abroad.

2014 Whitney M. Young Jr. Award

Courtesy of American Institute of Architects

The Board of Directors of the AIA selected Ivenue Love-Stanley, FAIA, to receive the 2014 Whitney M. Young Jr. Award. The award honors those who exemplify the profession’s proactive social mandate, and was granted in recognition of Love-Stanley’s career-long dedication to bringing design to under served communities and to making design education, and education in general, inclusive and accessible to all. The first African-American woman to graduate from the College of Architecture at Georgia Tech, she later became the first African-American woman to become a licensed architect in the Southeast. She continues to work at the Atlanta-based Stanley, Love-Stanley with her husband, William Stanley, FAIA, and advocate support for minority students pursuing architectural degrees continues through her annual sponsorship of the National Organization of Minority Architects (NOMA).

2014 Edward C. Kemper Award

Courtesy of American Institute of Architects

The AIA Board of Directors bestowed the Edward C. Kemper Award on Fredric “Rick” Bell, FAIA, in recognition of his service to New York City and his commitment to sustainable design and public health. The award is given annually to an architect who has contributed significantly to the profession through service to the AIA. Bell has dedicated his career to improving the lives of residents in New York City and the surrounding areas, establishing the AIA New York's storefront Center for Architecture and as the New York City Department of Design + Construction's chief architect and assistant commissioner he oversaw about 700 projects in the last 20 years. He developed FitCity, a new program that merges architecture and public health, helped establish the New York City Active Design Guidelines, and is a prolific advocate for his chapter.

For more about the award winners, check out the AIA's newsletter here.

Founded in 1857, members of the American Institute of Architects consistently work to create more valuable, healthy, secure, and sustainable buildings, neighborhoods, and communities. Through nearly 300 state and local chapters, the AIA advocates for public policies that promote economic vitality and public well being. Members adhere to a code of ethics and conduct to ensure the highest professional standards. The AIA provides members with tools and resources to assist them in their careers and business as well as engaging civic and government leaders, and the public to find solutions to pressing issues facing our communities, institutions, nation and world. Visit

About this author
Cite: Eric Baldwin. "AIA Announces Three Award Recipents" 22 Dec 2013. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.