Winners of 2013 Architecture at Zero Competition Announced

Industry leaders recently came together to announce the winners of the 2013 Architecture at Zero competition, which included five professional and one student awardee. The competition, which is co-sponsored by AIA San Francisco and Pacific Gas & Electric, focuses specifically on the design of zero-net energy structures.

While zero net energy is easily achieved in smaller buildings, it's a challenge in larger structures - and the competition challenged entrants to think big. With the aim of being as close to zero net energy as possible, competition entries had to be a mix of affordable and market rate housing units and include a full neighborhood-serving grocery store on the ground level.

Read more for the winners...

The competition was set in San Francisco's Tenderloin neighbourhood,a historic district in the centre of the city that is in need of revitalisation. In order to better judge the proposals on their contextual merits, AIA San Francisco and PGE also paired with the Tenderloin Neighborhood Development Corporation (TNDC). The competition was open to entrants worldwide, and included a $25,000 prize (to be divided amongst the winners.)

Merit Award - Student Entry: Living in Flux / Victor Bao (California Polytechnic State University)

Living in Flux. Image Courtesy of Architecture at Zero

Merit Award: Catalyst SF / Joseph King, Lillian Park, Tony Vasquez, and Laurence Booth (Booth Hansen)

Catalyst SF. Image Courtesy of Architecture at Zero

Merit Award: Prime Cut / Stephan Rutz, Jesse Honsa, Kate Gannon, Karl Slippel, Bruno Keller, Christian Schoch, Heinz Simmler, Andreas Gianoli, and Roland Ryser (Rutz Architects)

Prime Cut. Image Courtesy of Architecture at Zero

Citation Award: NZ + Beyond Net Zero Energy / Drew Adams, Joseph Yau and Mark Alocilja

Special Recognition Award: Tetris Block / Duane B. Carter, Mike Stopka, Simon Mance, Scott Farbman, Courtney Brower

Tetris Block. Image Courtesy of Architecture at Zero

Special Recognition Award: Folium / Karim Hammad, Robert Herman, Susie Coliver, Stephen Doherty, Jonas Weber, Emma Ramoy, Michael Hummel, Ryan Potvin, and David Malman (Herman Coliver Locus Architecture, EBS Consultants, Architectural Lighting Design)

Folium. Image Courtesy of Architecture at Zero

About this author
Cite: Katherine Allen. "Winners of 2013 Architecture at Zero Competition Announced" 16 Nov 2013. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.