Finalists for Mies van der Rohe Award Selected

Superkilen / Topotek 1 + BIG + Superflex. Image © Iwan Baan.

The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe have announced the five finalists who will compete for the 2013 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture, also known as the Mies van der Rohe Award. Out of 355 works submitted from 37 countries, five have been short-listed, including BIG's Superkilen (also up for an ArchDaily Building of the Year Award for best public facility).

The overall winner of the Prize, as well as the 'special mention' award for best emerging architect, will be announced in May, with an award ceremony on June 6th at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona, Spain. See all 5 finalists, after the break... 

Harpa Concert Hall and Conference Centre / Henning Larsen Architects & Batteriid Architects. Image courtesy of Henning Larsen Architects.

City Hall in Ghent, Belgium by Robbrecht en Daem architecten; Marie-José Van Hee architecten

Superkilen in Copenhagen, Denmark by BIG Bjarke Ingels Group; Topotek1; Superflex

Harpa - Reykjavik Concert Hall & Conference Centre in Reykjavik, Iceland by Batteríid architects; Henning Larsen Architects; Studio Olafur Eliasson

House for Elderly People in Alcácer do Sal, Portugal by Aires Mateus Arquitectos

Metropol Parasol in Seville, Spain by J. Mayer H.

Metropol Parasol / J. Mayer H + Arup. Courtesy of J. Mayer H.

From the Press Release: "The European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award highlights the contribution of European architects to the development of new ideas and technologies in contemporary urban development. Launched in 1987 and co-funded by the EU Culture Programme and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe, the €60 000 Prize is the most prestigious in European architecture. It is awarded every other year for a work completed within the previous two years.

This year’s ceremony is the 13th to take place since its launch. Works nominated for the Prize are put forward by independent experts from all over Europe, as well as by the member associations of the Architects’ Council of Europe, national architects’ associations, and the advisory committee for the Prize." 

Story via Mies Arch

About this author
Cite: Vanessa Quirk. "Finalists for Mies van der Rohe Award Selected" 31 Jan 2013. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.