the world's most visited architecture website

Sign up now and start saving and organizing your favorite architecture projects and photos

Sign up now to save and organize your favorite architecture projects


Find the most inspiring products for your projects in our Product Catalog.

Find the most inspiring products in our Product Catalog.


Get the ArchDaily Chrome Extension and be inspired with every new tab. Install here »


All over the world, architects are finding cool ways to re-use run-down old buildings. Click here to see the best in Refurbishment Architecture.

Want to see the coolest refurbishment projects? Click here.


Immerse yourself in inspiring buildings with our selection of 360 videos. Click here.

See our immersive, inspiring 360 videos. Click here.

Navigate articles using your keyboard
  1. ArchDaily
  2. Articles
  3. 2012 RIBA Stirling Prize Shortlist Revealed

2012 RIBA Stirling Prize Shortlist Revealed

2012 RIBA Stirling Prize Shortlist Revealed
London Olympic Stadium, London / Populous © LOCOG
London Olympic Stadium, London / Populous © LOCOG

The Royal Institute of British Architecture (RIBA) has released the shortlist for this year’s Stirling Prize, the UK’s most prestigious architecture prize that is presented annually to the ‘building that has made the greatest contribution to the evolution of architecture in the past year’. This year’s six shortlisted projects range from seemingly simple yet highly innovative London Olympic Stadium to the thoughtful and intimate Maggie’s Cancer Centre in Glasgow. The winner will be announced in October at the RIBA Stirling Prize dinner.

Follow the break for the complete shortlist and more details about the RIBA Stirling Prize.

2012 RIBA Stirling Prize Shortlist:

The Hepworth Wakefield,Yorkshire / David Chipperfield Architects © Iwan Baan
The Hepworth Wakefield,Yorkshire / David Chipperfield Architects © Iwan Baan

RIBA PresidentAngela Brady stated: “The annual RIBA Stirling Prize celebrates architectural excellence and this year we have an incredibly strong list of contenders. All of the shortlisted buildings demonstrate the essence of great architecture; they are human-scale buildings, places to inspire, entertain, educate and comfort their visitors and passers-by. Every building not only works beautifully from within but has a superb relationship with its surroundings, with a strong interplay between the two. They don’t shout ‘look at me’ and even the tallest building, New Court in the City of London, has created good views for passing pedestrians, meeting the challenge of delivering good urban design in an historic area. The 2012 RIBA Stirling Prize judges have a difficult job to select a winner from this pool of great talent. I can’t wait to see which project they choose.”

The RIBA Stirling Prize is for projects ‘built or designed in Britain’.  Buildings are eligible if they are in the UK or European Union by an architect whose head office is in the UK.  The prize was set up in 1996 and is named after the great British architect Sir James Stirling (1926 – 1992). It is presented in association with The Architects’ Journal and Benchmark, and the winning architect receives a cash prize of £20,000.

Buildings need to enter and win an RIBA Award for architectural excellence in order to be judged for the RIBA Stirling Prize. The RIBA Awards are announced in May each year and are judged by a regional Jury. A separate jury is then created to form the RIBA Stirling Prize shortlist.

For the past two years, Zaha Hadid Architects has claimed the prize with the Evelyn Grace Academy (2011) and MAXXI Museum, Rome (2010).

View the complete gallery

About this author
Karissa Rosenfield

See more:

Cite: Karissa Rosenfield. "2012 RIBA Stirling Prize Shortlist Revealed" 23 Jul 2012. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884
Read comments

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.