We are currently in Beta version and updating this search on a regular basis. We’d love to hear your feedback here.

  1. ArchDaily
  2. Mcdowellespinosa

Mcdowellespinosa: The Latest Architecture and News

mcdowellespinosa’s "Layered Intelligence" Challenges the Typology of Mixed Use Buildings

The Chicago Architecture Foundation (CAF) has announced the three winners of its ChiDesign ideas competition to design the Chicago Centre for Architecture, Design and Education (CADE). The competition was in conjunction with the first ever Chicago Architecture Biennial, following the spirit of Robert McCormick’s international competition for the Chicago Tribune Tower in 1922 which opened discourse on the importance of design to the public. Similar to McCormick’s competition, but tackling a more modern, mixed-use typology, the Chicago CADE is envisioned as a facility to house the Chicago Architecture Foundation; the Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat; a design and allied arts high school; and learning spaces for an extra-curricular youth program. Read about one of the winners, "Layered Intelligence" after the break, and see another winner, "Unveiled" here.

Interior Rendered View. Image Courtesy of mcdowellespinosaInterior Rendered View. Image Courtesy of mcdowellespinosaInterior Rendered View. Image Courtesy of mcdowellespinosaExterior Rendered View. Image Courtesy of mcdowellespinosa+ 12

Six Young Practices Selected As Winners Of The Architectural League Prize 2015

Besler & Sons, The Entire Situation. Image © Joshua White
Besler & Sons, The Entire Situation. Image © Joshua White

The Architectural League of New York has announced the winners of its 2015 Prize for Young Architects + Designers. Launched in 1981 and organized by a committee comprising League Programs Director Anne Rieselbach and a selection of winners from last year, the Architectural League Prize is one of the United States' most prestigious awards for young architects, recognizing provocative work and offering a platform for the winners to disseminate their ideas. This year's theme, "Authenticity," asked designers how technological changes in computation, visualization, material intelligence, and fabrication technologies are altering our perception of design and the role of the architect.

The jury for the prize consisted of Keller Easterling, Sanford Kwinter, Michael Meredith, Lyn Rice, and Billie Tsien, as well as previous winners Carrie Norman, John Rhett Russo, and Jenny Sabin. As part of their prize, in June the six winning practices will present a series of lectures, and their work will be on display in an exhibition during the summer.

Read on for the complete list of winners.

Thom Moran, Tables and Chairs. Image Courtesy of Thom MoranThom Moran, Rainbro. Image Courtesy of Thom Moranmcdowellespinosa, Anomally Folly 03. Image Courtesy of Seth McDowellFirst Office, Possible Table 2. Image Courtesy of First Office+ 13