1. ArchDaily
  2. Architectural League Prize

Architectural League Prize: The Latest Architecture and News

Jennifer Bonner of MALL Wins 2019 Architectural League Prize

Jennifer Bonner of MALL has been named one of the 2019 recipients of The Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers. Each year, The Architectural League announces six firms as winners of the award, which spotlights young, innovative North American architects and designers. Bonner is known for work that reinvents materials, hacks typologies, and playfully reimagines everyday architectural elements from gable roofs to brick facades.

Haus Gables, 2017-2018. Image © Adam DeTour Office Stack, 2019. Image Courtesy of Glenn Marquardt Haus Gables, 2019. Image © NAARO Domestic Hats, 2014. Image © Patrick Heagney + 6

Aga Khan Awarded The 2017 Architectural League President's Medal

The Architectural League of New York has announced the recipient of its 2017 President’s Medal: His Highness the Aga Khan, the 49th hereditary Imam (Spiritual Leader) of the Shia Imami Ismaili Muslims, on the occasion of the 40th anniversary of the Aga Khan Award in Architecture – an annual award established to celebrate building concepts that have successfully addressed the needs of Muslim communities from around the world.

The Architectural League’s highest honor, the President’s Medal is awarded annually to recognize individuals for an extraordinary body of work in architecture, urbanism, art, or design. The medal will be presented by League President Billie Tsien at a May 18 dinner in New York.

6 Young Firms Selected as Winners of the 2017 Architectural League Prize

The Architectural League of New York has announced the winners of the 2017 Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers. Established in 1981, the prize has grown to become one of North America’s most prestigious awards recognizing young architects (ten or fewer years removed from a bachelor’s or master’s degree program) for their talent and forward-thinking ideas.

Campground; Gunnison, CO; 2012-2013 / KEVIN HIRTH Co.. Image © KEVIN HIRTH Co. Intake Facility, Arrivals Concourse A (at Castle Williams); Governors Island, NY / theLab-lab for architecture. Image © Mustafa Faruki, theLab-lab for architecture Public kiosks and toilets; Ecatepec, State of Mexico; 2015 / LANZA Atelier. Image © Camila Cossio Runaway; Santa Barbara, CA; 2017 / SPORTS. Image © Elliot Lowndes + 16

The Architectural League Prize 2016: (im)permanence

Young architects and designers are invited to submit work to the annual Architectural League Prize Competition. Projects of all types, either theoretical or real, and executed in any medium, are welcome. The jury will select work for presentation in lectures, digital media, and an exhibition in June 2016. Winners will receive a cash prize of $2,000. A catalogue of winning work will be published by The Architectural League.

Six Young Practices Selected As Winners Of The Architectural League Prize 2015

Besler & Sons, The Entire Situation. Image © Joshua White
Besler & Sons, The Entire Situation. Image © Joshua White

The Architectural League of New York has announced the winners of its 2015 Prize for Young Architects + Designers. Launched in 1981 and organized by a committee comprising League Programs Director Anne Rieselbach and a selection of winners from last year, the Architectural League Prize is one of the United States' most prestigious awards for young architects, recognizing provocative work and offering a platform for the winners to disseminate their ideas. This year's theme, "Authenticity," asked designers how technological changes in computation, visualization, material intelligence, and fabrication technologies are altering our perception of design and the role of the architect.

The jury for the prize consisted of Keller Easterling, Sanford Kwinter, Michael Meredith, Lyn Rice, and Billie Tsien, as well as previous winners Carrie Norman, John Rhett Russo, and Jenny Sabin. As part of their prize, in June the six winning practices will present a series of lectures, and their work will be on display in an exhibition during the summer.

Read on for the complete list of winners.

Thom Moran, Tables and Chairs. Image Courtesy of Thom Moran Thom Moran, Rainbro. Image Courtesy of Thom Moran mcdowellespinosa, Anomally Folly 03. Image Courtesy of Seth McDowell First Office, Possible Table 2. Image Courtesy of First Office + 13

Henry N. Cobb Awarded Architectural League President's Medal

The Architectural League of New York has awarded its President's Medal to Henry N. Cobb of Pei Cobb Freed & Partners Architects. The League's highest honor, the medal was awarded to Cobb “for the truly consequential work he has created as designer, educator, thinker, writer, and leader,” says the jury citation.

"We are inspired by his decades-long passion for the art of architecture; by his analytic rigor, manifest in subtle and articulate buildings and penetrating readings of history and place; by the broad and profoundly informed humanist culture that suffuses his writings and approach to education; and by the unbounded curiosity and delight he takes in new ideas, new work, and new talent. Henry N. Cobb embodies that combination of capability and conviction—artistic, intellectual, practical, and civic—that defines the ideal architect.”

Six Emerging Practitioners Win Architectural League Prize

The Architectural League Prize, one of North America’s most prestigious awards for young architects and designers, has been awarded to six emerging practitioners. Each recipient, whose work was deemed to be “exemplary and provocative” by the jury, presented their portfolios under the theme of “Overlay,” as the term “directs - rather than merely reconstructs - process.” This theme will now set the stage for a public forum in which each winner will use to exchange ideas.

The 2014 Architectural League Prize winners are: