Six Emerging Practitioners Win Architectural League Prize

The Architectural League Prize, one of North America’s most prestigious awards for young architects and designers, has been awarded to six emerging practitioners. Each recipient, whose work was deemed to be “exemplary and provocative” by the jury, presented their portfolios under the theme of “Overlay,” as the term “directs - rather than merely reconstructs - process.” This theme will now set the stage for a public forum in which each winner will use to exchange ideas.

The 2014 Architectural League Prize winners are:

Kutan Ayata and Michael Young, Young & Ayata, Brooklyn

Kutan Ayata and Michael Young view the reality of contemporary building as a provocation to the progression of experiments in form, material and technology.

Villa at Al-Mezhar – Shaded Courtyard; Sharjah, UAE, Young & Ayata 2008

Claus Benjamin Freyinger and Andrew Holder, The LADG, Los Angeles

Claus Benjamin Freyinger and Andrew Holder draw on history to craft unexpected solutions to conventional problems.

"In the Garden Grows a Lump," Taubman College Gallery 2014 © LADG

Adam Fure, SIFT Studio, Ann Arbor

By conducting experiments with new treatments for old substances, Adam Fure’s studio promotes architecture’s unique capacity to shape experience. 

Adam Fure (with Ellie Abrons), Mirror Mirror, 2013

Thomas Kelley and Carrie Norman, Norman Kelley, Brooklyn and Chicago

Purposefully disrupting the notion of “correctness,” Thomas Kelley and Carrie Norman vulgarize, satirize and reposition (lofty) material to elevate the ordinary. 

Shape Shape Evolution, Playhouse for the Early Learning Foundation. Chicago, Illinois (2013). Courtesy of Norman Kelley

Jenny E. Sabin, Jenny Sabin Studio, Philadelphia

Jenny E. Sabin investigates the intersection of architecture and science, and applies insights and theories from biology and mathematics to the design of material structures. 

Digital Ceramics: PolyMorph, Jenny Sabin Studio, September 2013; built, for the 9th ArchiLab, Naturalizing Architecture, FRAC Centre, Orleans, France. View through Les Turbulences. 1400 digitally produced and hand cast ceramic components interwoven and tensioned to form a large suspended spatial structure. Photo: Jenny E. Sabin

Geoffrey von Oeyen, Geoffrey von Oeyen Design, Los Angeles

Geoffrey von Oeyen characterizes the relationship within each project as a dialogue that seeks to reveal essential geometric paradigms. 

Y-House, Marfa, Texas. View to the South. An open rear courtyard provides privacy and wind protection while shaping expansive views to the high desert horizon. Courtesy of Geoffrey von Oeyen Design

The six winners will now be invited to present their work in a variety of public fora, including lectures, an exhibition, a catalogue published by Princeton Architectural Press (forthcoming, Spring 2015), and on the League’s website.

You can find more information about the program and this year's winners, here.

News via the Architectural League.

About this author
Cite: Karissa Rosenfield. "Six Emerging Practitioners Win Architectural League Prize " 25 Apr 2014. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.