Grayson Perry, Martha Thorne and Bjarke Ingels Among the RIBA's 2016 Honorary Fellowships

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) have announced fourteen 2016 RIBA Honorary Fellowships (of whom two are in partnership) and eight International Fellowships which will be awarded at an event on the 1st February 2016, alongside the recently announced RIBA Royal Gold Medal. RIBA Honorary Fellowships are awarded annually to people who have made "a particular contribution to architecture in its broadest sense," be it in the fields of architecture, construction, media, education, or the arts.

Among others esteemed individuals, the Honorary Fellowships include Kristin Feireiss of the Aedes Architekturforum in Berlin, artist and FAT-collaborator Grayson Perry, and Martha Thorne, executive director of the Pritzker Prize. The Honorary and International Fellowships entitle winners to use the initials 'Hon. FRIBA' and 'Int. FRIBA' respectively after their names.

2016 Honorary Fellowships

  • John Brooks – Vice Chancellor, Manchester Metropolitan University
  • Caroline Cole – architectural consultant
  • Dame Vivien Duffield DBE – philanthropist and client
  • Kristin Feireiss – architecture curator, writer and editor
  • Charles Knevitt – journalist, author and former Director of the RIBA Trust
  • Peter and Annaliese Latz – landscape architects, Germany
  • Sasha Lubetkin – curator
  • Alison Nimmo CBE, FRICS, MRTPI, FICE – Chief Executive, The Crown Estate
  • Grayson Perry – artist
  • Richard Steer – quantity surveyor and patron of architecture, Gleeds
  • Martha Thorne – Executive Director of the Pritzker Prize, Planner and Urbanist
  • Heinz Wirz – publisher
  • Kate Goodwin – Head of Architecture and Drue Heinz Curator, Royal Academy

2016 Honorary International Fellowships

  • Kees Christiaanse – KCAP, Netherlands
  • Mario Cucinella – MC Architects, Italy
  • Bjarke Ingels – BIG, Denmark
  • Rick Joy Rick Joy Architects, USA
  • Brian MacKay-Lyons – MacKay-Lyons Sweetapple Architects, Canada
  • Peter Märkli – Studio Märkli, Switzerland
  • Peter StutchburyPeter Stutchbury Architecture, Australia
  • José Antonio Martínez Lapeña & Elias Torres – Spain

About this author
Cite: James Taylor-Foster. "Grayson Perry, Martha Thorne and Bjarke Ingels Among the RIBA's 2016 Honorary Fellowships" 25 Sep 2015. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.