Winners of the 2015-2016 Rome Prize Announced

Now in its 119th year, the recipients of the 2015-2016 Rome Prize have been announced by the American Academy in Rome (AAR). The prestigious prize is granted annually to around thirty artists, designers, and scholars who display exceptional promise in their professional fields, enabling them to undertake creative projects with a public element for an average of eleven months in Rome. The winners were selected by eight interdisciplinary juries, and will be rewarded with accommodation in Rome as well as project funding of up to $28,000 per year, depending on the length of their stay.

Check out the 2015-2016 recipients in Architecture, Historic Preservation and Conservation, and Landscape Architecture after the break.

This year’s Rome Prize was granted to 31 recipients, whose work spans eleven disciplines, ranging from Musical Composition to Ancient Studies. Below are the winners in the Architecture, Historic Composition and Conservation, and Landscape Architecture categories:


  • Karl Daubmann – Associate Professor of Architecture and Urban Planning at the University of Michigan’s Taubman College; director of DAUB
  • Javier Galindo – Founder / Principal, JGCH; Associate Principal, Kohn Pedersen Fox

Historic Preservation and Conservation

  • Jeffrey W. Cody – author; Getty Conservation Institute’s Southeast Asia education initiative; co-planner of the Organization of World Heritage Cities Ninth Congress
  • Bryony Roberts - artist; principal of Bryony Roberts Studio; teaching fellowship at SCI-Arc and Rice School of Architecture

Landscape Architecture

  • Christopher Marcinkoski – architect; founding director of PORT; Assistant Professor of Landscape Architecture and Urban Design at the University of Pennsylvania
  • Alexander Robinson – author; Assistant Professor of University of Southern California’s Landscape Architecture Masters Program; principal of oOR
  • Thaïsa Way – author; Associate Professor of the University of Washington’s Department of Landscape Architecture

News via AAR and

Recipient biographies via,,,,

About this author
Cite: Holly Giermann. "Winners of the 2015-2016 Rome Prize Announced" 22 Apr 2015. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.