Peter Stutchbury Awarded Australian Institute of Architects' Gold Medal

The 2015 Australian Achievement in Architecture Awards have been allocated by the Australian Institute of Architects in Melbourne. The prestigious awards honor emerging and seasoned architects, students, and academics whose interdisciplinary designs have excelled in embracing the possibilities of the profession. Granting 14 awards in 9 categories, the recipients’ work spans a wide range of subject matter and addresses various aspects of architecture’s inherent influences both locally and globally.

The highest award, the Gold Medal, was awarded to Peter Stutchbury, whose lifelong commitment to architecture has spanned education, professional practice, and involvement in organizations. His international work consistently speaks to its specific cultural and site conditions, while adhering to sustainable design principles.

See all the 2015 award winners, after the break.

From sustainability to international design, the Australian Achievement in Architecture Awards recognize the stellar efforts of individuals in various realms of the profession. Within these categories, they highlight professional design, student work, and educational efforts. In addition to recognizing design excellence, the awards foster the aspirations of future architects, sponsoring the Dulux Study Tour to expose them to the influence of location on design.

The 2015 winners are:

Gold Medal:
Peter Stutchbury, Peter Stutchbury Architecture (NSW)

Peter Stutchbury / Invisible House. Image © Michael Nicholson

Emerging Architect Prize:
Nic Brunsdon, Post- and Spacemarket (WA)

National President’s Prize:
Ian Close and Sue Harris, Architecture Media (Vic)

Student Prize for Advancement of Architecture:
Barnaby Hartford-Davis, RMIT (Vic)

BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize:
Matthew Hyland, University of Tasmania (Qld)
Jin Chen Lee, University of NSW (NSW)

Courtesy of Matthew Hyland
Courtesy of Jin Chen Lee

Leadership in Sustainability Prize:
Professor Emeritus Allan Rodger LFRAIA (Vic)

William J Mitchell International Committee Prize:
Louise Cox AO LFRAIA (NSW)

Neville Quarry Architectural Education Prize:
Professor Paul Memmott, University of Queensland (Qld)

Dulux Study Tour Prize:
Bonnie Herring, Breathe Architecture (Vic)
Casey Bryant, Andrew Burns Architect (NSW)
John Ellway, James Russell Architect (Qld)
Monique Woodward, WOWOWA (Vic)
Nic Brunsdon, Post- and Spacemarket (WA)

For more information on each category and its winners, visit

About this author
Cite: Holly Giermann. "Peter Stutchbury Awarded Australian Institute of Architects' Gold Medal " 19 Mar 2015. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.