2013 Rio de Janeiro Cityvision Competition Winners Announced

CityVision just announced the winners of the Rio de Janeiro Competition, their fifth international ideas competition which was launched earlier this year with the purpose of providing a vision on Rio de Janeiro’s future. Upon receiving 68 proposals from all five continents, this year's jury selected a winner and 9 honorable mentions. The first place was awarded to Donghua Chen from China, for his project "Ceu de Janeiro" which doesn’t focus on monopoly or unity, but an interchanging environment or integration. More images and information on the winning proposals after the break.

1st prize - Donghua Chen

The Rio de Janeiro ideas have been judged by an international jury which had as president Alejandro Zaera-Polo along with Jeffrey Inaba, Jeroen Koolhaas, Hernan Diaz Alonso, Pedro Riveraand Cristiano Toraldo di Francia.

honorable mention - Roberto Costa and Rodrigo Bocater

Ceu is the being of multiplicity, from centralized management of power to self-organization, from priority for efficiency to coexistence of harmony, from layers of subordination to equality of pluralism."

FARM prize - Alessandro Nardacci, Alessandro Oltremarini and Federico Marchi

A special prize (FARM PRIZE) has been conferred from Andrea Bartoli of Farm Cultural Park to Alessandro Nardacci, Alessandro Oltremarini and Federico Marchi.

honorable mention - Gwyl Jahn and Tom Morgan

The 9 honorable mentions are:

-   Gwyl Jahn and Tom Morgan (The City Beyond the City)
-   Sam George Welham, Rui Liu and Chun Fatt Lee (Dot.Scaped Centro)
-   Lee, Kyo Seon, Hong, Yoon Kee and Song, Jin Young (Tensile City)
-   Andrea Galli, Riccardo Berghella, Ottavio Berghella and Lorenzo Massimiano (Mantica)
-   Alfie Koetter and Emmett Zeifman (Measure)
-   Tiago Torres-Campos (Sailing is Necessary, Living is Not Necessary)
-   Justin Garrison, Dorin Baul, Carla Landa, Rania Ghosn (4.7: A Geographic Stroll Around the Horizon)
-   André Cavendish and Alessandra Monarcha (Metropolitan Anthropophagy)
-   Roberto Costa and Rodrigo Bocater (Latent Skyline). 

For more information on the competition, please visit here.

Image gallery

See allShow less
About this author
Cite: Alison Furuto. "2013 Rio de Janeiro Cityvision Competition Winners Announced" 05 Aug 2013. ArchDaily. Accessed . <https://www.archdaily.com/411614/2013-rio-de-janeiro-cityvision-competition-winners-announced> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.