the world's most visited architecture website

Sign up now and start saving and organizing your favorite architecture projects and photos

Sign up now to save and organize your favorite architecture projects


Find the most inspiring products for your projects in our Product Catalog.

Find the most inspiring products in our Product Catalog.


Get the ArchDaily Chrome Extension and be inspired with every new tab. Install here »


All over the world, architects are finding cool ways to re-use run-down old buildings. Click here to see the best in Refurbishment Architecture.

Want to see the coolest refurbishment projects? Click here.


Immerse yourself in inspiring buildings with our selection of 360 videos. Click here.

See our immersive, inspiring 360 videos. Click here.

Navigate articles using your keyboard
  1. ArchDaily
  2. News
  3. Johannes Vermeer Award 2013 goes to Rem Koolhaas

Johannes Vermeer Award 2013 goes to Rem Koolhaas

Johannes Vermeer Award 2013 goes to Rem Koolhaas
Johannes Vermeer Award 2013 goes to Rem Koolhaas, © Fred Ernst
© Fred Ernst

With the ambition of honoring and encouraging outstanding artistic talent, the Dutch state prize for the arts - the Johannes Vermeer Award - has been awarded this year to architect and writer Rem Koolhaas. The jury made a unanimous decision, citing Koolhaas’s critical contributions to architecture and urbanism since his career began with the publication of Delirious New York in 1975. 

The jury of the Johannes Vermeer Award 2013 commended Rem Koolhaas for his impressive body of work as a designer and a thinker, as well as his contribution to the discourse on cities, in particular his innovative practice in areas with rapidly growing populations and economies. The jury also admired Koolhaas’ exceptional energy, which allows him and his office OMA to continuously seek and invent possibilities to shape the built environment.

The Minister of Culture, Jet Bussemaker, will present the prize to Koolhaas on Monday, October 21, at the recently re-opened Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam.

News via Johannes Vermeer Prijs 

About this author
Karissa Rosenfield
Cite: Karissa Rosenfield. "Johannes Vermeer Award 2013 goes to Rem Koolhaas" 27 Apr 2013. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884
Read comments