Light Cannon House / Carterwilliamson Architects

© Katherine Lu

Architects: Carterwilliamson Architects
Location: Annandale NSW,
Year: 2013
Photographs: Katherine Lu

Does Australia Need More Design Competitions?

© Flickr – User: Jong Soo (Peter) Lee

Architecture offer an opportunity for architects to launch their careers, and in some cases generate unexpected designs in the process. Many iconic works of architecture, including the famous Sydney Opera House, were the result of open design competitions – but do architecture competitions today maintain the influence they might have had in the past? While critics in the United States have recently argued that it could be time to quit competitions, Donald Bates argues that Australians should be organizing more. In his article on The Conversation, Bates discusses the state of design competitions in Australia, and why we should take another look. Read the full article here.

The Dalmeny / Enter Projects

© Brett Boardman

Architects: Enter Projects
Location: Sydney NSW, Australia
Photographs: Brett Boardman

NAB Docklands / Woods Bagot

© Shannon McGrath

Architects: Woods Bagot
Location: 700 Bourke Street, Docklands VIC 3008,
Area: 63000.0 sqm
Year: 2013
Photographs: Shannon McGrath, Trevor Mein

Junya Ishigami to Install “Cloud Arch” in Downtown Sydney


Set to be installed over a set of light rail tracks, Junya Ishigami’s Cloud Arch will soon be one of the biggest landmarks in downtown Sydney.  Commissioned by ’s public art program, City Art, the arch will symbolize ’s qualities of being “Green, Global, and Connected.” Over 50 meters high, it will change shape as viewer’s walk past it. Cloud Arch will act as both a gateway for the pedestrian George Street, and a defining feature of the city.

Trifolium / AR-MA

© Brett Boardman

Architects: AR-MA
Location: 16/18-20 Goodhope Street, Paddington NSW 2021, Australia
Design Team: Robert Beson, Gabriele Ulacco, Tony Ho, Guido Maciocci, Nono Martinez Alonso, Simon Vorhammer
Area: 60.0 sqm
Year: 2014
Photographs: Brett Boardman

Westgarth House / Kennedy Nolan Architects

© Derek Swalwell

Architects: Kennedy Nolan Architects
Location: VIC,
Year: 2013
Photographs: Derek Swalwell

South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute / Woods Bagot

© Trevor Mein

Architects: Woods Bagot
Location: Adelaide SA,
Photographs: Trevor Mein

OMLC / Tzannes Associates

Courtesy of

Architects: Tzannes Associates
Location: NSW, Australia
Year: 2011
Photographs: Courtesy of Tzannes Associates

Hamersley Road Residence / Studio53

© Christian Sprogoe

Architects: Studio53
Location: WA 6008, Australia
Year: 2013
Photographs: Christian Sprogoe, Chris Maher

AD Interviews: Andrew Maynard / Andrew Maynard Architects

At the World Architecture Festival, we sat down with , co-director of Australian architecture firm Andrew Maynard Architects.

Maynard is known for his polemical projects, like CV08 robot, which wanders through the suburbs, consuming houses and replacing them with trees and other natural vegetation. “It’s got nothing to do with trying to achieve a built outcome, it’s about actually reacting against the economic machine,” Maynard said, regarding his polemical work.

He is also known for his interaction with media and discussion of critical issues such as Work/life/work balance, which became one of ArchDaily’s top 5 most read pieces ever. In this interview, Maynard tells us about his firm’s “intentionally small size,” how he approaches innovation, and the theory behind his polemical projects.

Andrew Maynard Architects are the brains behind projects such as Butler House, Vader House, Tattoo House and Hill House.

Peppercorn Apartments Stage 1 / Bower Architecture

© Shannon McGrath

Architects: Bower Architecture
Location: , VIC, Australia
Area: 5,608 sqm
Year: 2013
Photographs: Shannon McGrath

The Dogtrot House / Dunn & Hillam Architects

© Kilian O’Sullivan

Architects: Dunn & Hillam Architects
Location: , Australia
Design Team: Ashley Dunn, Lee Hillam, Linden Thorley, Jonathan Temple
Year: 2013
Photographs: Kilian O’Sullivan

Bethanga House / tUG workshop

© Trevor Mein

Architects: tUG workshop
Location: Lake Hume,
Area: 386 sqm
Year: 2012
Photographs: Trevor Mein

Queen Street Residence / Tzannes Associates

© Murray Fredericks

Architects: Tzannes Associates
Location: NSW,
Year: 2009
Photographs: Murray Fredericks

Faculty of Engineering + Information Technology / Denton Corker Marshall

© Richard Glover

Architects: Denton Corker Marshall
Location: Jones Street, Ultimo, NSW,
Area: 22,050 sqm
Year: 2014
Photographs: Richard Glover

Melbourne to Launch Its Own Serpentine Pavilion

2013 Serpentine Gallery Pavilion / Sou Fujimoto. Image © Danica O. Kus

Mirroring the Serpentine Galleries of London, the Naomi Milgrom Foundation has announced its own yearly pavilion commission for the city of Melbourne. Sited in the Queen Victoria Memorial Gardens, the premier “MPavilion” will be designed by Sean Godsell, opening October 6th of this year.  The pavilion will host a variety of community events, including art installations and performances, over a four month period.  It remains to be seen whether the MPavilion will have a lasting impact on the architectural culture of the city, as some critics have pointed out. To learn more about this now annual commission, visit this article from infolink.

The Garden Room / Welsh+Major

© Brett Boardman

Architects: Welsh+Major
Location: Sydney NSW,
Year: 2013
Photographs: Brett Boardman