We are currently in Beta version and updating this search on a regular basis. We’d love to hear your feedback here.


Learn more about the story behind our new brand identity.

Read more
  1. ArchDaily
  2. Cooper Hewitt Museum

Cooper Hewitt Museum: The Latest Architecture and News

Snøhetta Wins Cooper Hewitt National Design Award

International design practice Snøhetta has been selected as the recipient of the 2020 National Design Award for Architecture by Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum. The honor recognizes both the impact of the studio's work, as well a particular focus on social and environmental sustainability. The awards are meant to increase awareness and understanding of how design improves everyday life.

Courtesy of SnøhettaCourtesy of SnøhettaCourtesy of SnøhettaCourtesy of Snøhetta+ 7

MASS Design Group, Deborah Berke Partners Win 2017 Cooper Hewitt Design Awards

The Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum has announced the winners of their 2017 National Design Awards, recognizing outstanding achievement in design and innovation across a variety of design disciplines. Now in its 18th year, the annual award was established to “promote design as a vital humanistic tool in shaping the world.”

This year, several architects and architectural institutions took home prizes, including MASS Design Group, in the category of Architecture Design; Surfacedesign (Landscape Architecture); Deborah Berke Partners (Interior Design), Craig L. Wilkins (Design Mind), and the Design Trust for Public Space (Corporate & Institutional Achievement).

Cummins Indianapolis Distribution Headquarters / Deborah Berke & Partners. Image © CumminsButaro Doctors’ Housing / MASS Design Group. Image © Iwan Baan© Rob Stephenson for the Design Trust for Public SpaceGolden Gate Bridge Plaza, San Francisco / Surfacedesign. Image © Marion Brenner+ 5

Michael Graves and MOS Architects Win Cooper Hewitt National Design Award

Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum has announced the winners of its 2015 National Design Award. Taking top honors, the late Michael Graves has been honored with the "Lifetime Achievement" award for "broadening the role of architects and raising public interest in good design as essential to the quality of everyday life."

MOS Architects was also selected to receive the "Architecture Design" award. The New York-based studio, founded by principals Hilary Sample and Michael Meredith in 2005, was lauded by the jury for their "academic research [that] occurs in parallel to the real-world constraints and contingencies of practice."

Why Design Now / Cooper Hewitt Museum

As part of the Triennial program at the Cooper Hewitt, the showing exhibit Why Design Now? presents some of the most innovative designs of contemporary culture. The exhibition, which addresses human and environmental concerns, includes designers dappling in all areas of the design field – from architecture, to fashion, and graphics to materials.

More about the exhibit after the break.