We are currently in Beta version and updating this search on a regular basis. We’d love to hear your feedback here.

Mark Smith


How to Design Theater Seating, Shown Through 21 Detailed Example Layouts

Audience sightlines, accessibility and acoustics all make theater seating a hugely precise art. As part of their set of online resources for architects and designers, the team at Theatre Solutions Inc (TSI) have put together a catalog of 21 examples of theater seating layouts. Each layout is well detailed, with information on the number of seats, the floor seating area and row spacing. These layouts fall under three general forms; to supplement this information, alongside TSI's diagrams we've included the pros and cons of each type, as well as examples of projects which use each format. Read on for more.

The Blyth Performing Arts Centre / Stevens Lawson Architects. Image © Mark SmithTheatre Agora / UNStudio. Image © Iwan Baan       Ulumbarra Theatre / Y2 Architecture. Image © Peter Clarke Hamburg Elbphilharmonie / Herzog & de Meuron. Image © Iwan Baan       + 32

Te Kaitaka / Stevens Lawson Architects

© Mark Smith© Mark Smith© Mark Smith© Mark Smith+ 22

  • Area Area of this architecture project Area:  589
  • Year Completion year of this architecture project Year:  2010
  • Manufacturers Brands with products used in this architecture project
    Manufacturers: Autex, DRYDEN, GIB, HERMPAC, COWDROY, +2

The Blyth Performing Arts Centre / Stevens Lawson Architects

© Mark Smith© Mark Smith© Mark Smith© Mark Smith+ 22

Havelock North, New Zealand

2015 New Zealand Architecture Awards Announced

The New Zealand Institute of Architects has announced the 28 winners of the New Zealand Architecture Awards during an event at the Auckland Museum.

A wide range of projects were awarded, with three new categories of awards this year: the John Scott Award for public architecture, the Sir Ian Athfield Award for housing, and the Sir Miles Warren Award for commercial architecture.

Find out which 28 projects won New Zealand’s most prestigious architecture awards, after the break.

Winners of the 2015 Auckland Architecture Awards Announced

From 159 submissions, 44 have emerged as winners of the NZIA's 2015 Auckland Architecture Awards. The titles were bestowed upon 20 firms for new projects spanning 10 categories, ranging from a restrained renovation of a historic building in a Victorian neighborhood, to a bold, modern transportation hub. This year's awards were grounded in three main areas of the city, with Britomart dominating in hospitality and retail designs, Hobsonville Point receiving educational and multi-unit housing awards, and Titirangi gaining recognition for its stellar public architecture and housing.

The winning projects will be considered for the highest honor in the NZIA's awards program, the New Zealand Architecture Awards, which will be announced in November. See the full list of winners after the break.

Boatsheds / Strachan Group Architects and Rachael Rush. Image © Patrick ReynoldsTe Kohanga House / Wendy Shacklock Architects and Paul Clarke of Crosson Clarke Carnachan. Image © Sam HartnettMIT Manukau and Transport Interchange / Warren and Mahoney. Image © Simon DevittPt Chevalier Bungalow / Megan Edwards Architects. Image © Patrick Reynolds+ 44

Auckland Zoo / Monk Mackenzie + Glamuzina Patterson

© Jonny Davis© Jonny Davis© Jonny Davis© Jonny Davis+ 8

Auckland, New Zealand

New Zealand Architecture Awards 2014 Winners Announced

The winners of the New Zealand Architecture Awards 2014 have been announced. The winner of the 2014 New Zealand Architecture Medal, the most prestigious award building award in New Zealand, was BVN Donovan Hill and Jasmax, for their ASB North Wharf building. Patrick Clifford was also awarded with the New Zealand Institute of Architects Gold Medal for his career as director of Architectus, with the jury commending the "understated confidence" and "urbane and assured authority" of his work.

Another 16 projects also received awards in 9 categories. Read on after the break for the full list of winners.

AUT Sir Paul Reeves Building Jasmax. Image © Simon DevittVictoria University of Wellington, Campus Hub and Library Upgrade / Architectus and Athfield Architects. Image © Paul McCredieCocker Townhouses / Claude Megson Architect. Image © Patrick ReynoldsASB North Wharf / BVN Donovan Hill and Jasmax. Image © John Gollings+ 20

Waiatarua House / Hamish Monk Architecture

© Mark Smith© Mark Smith© Mark Smith© Mark Smith+ 21