Call for entries: SIMON architecture awards, Living Places

Call for entries: SIMON architecture awards, Living Places

Simon, leading manufacturer of interfaces and electrical equipment, and technology solutions creator for home and business environments, is celebrating its centenary this year with a series of events. Among them, it is now opening the call for its first architecture award: Living places.

The ‘Living places’ awards are the initiative of Simon, with advice and support being provided by the Fundació Mies van der Rohe. The aim of these awards is to acknowledge architecture projects (including interior design, public spaces and landscaping) whose superior quality strengthens the space’s ability to provide comfort to its users. Architecture that creates high quality spaces for people in their everyday life: to work, to learn, to wait, to play... Architecture to be lived in.

Among the wide variety and large quantity of architecture competitions, this new award is characterized by a focus on the user’s perspective, by the use of the video format as a base document to explain the project, and by a participation process that includes users and allows them to suggest which projects the jury should consider.

The two award categories, Collective spaces and Personal spaces reflect an interest in architecture that is projected and explained from the user’s perspective, that focuses on the experiences that put spaces, their design and resolution to the test.

To qualify for the award, interested architecture firms must upload a video to the website showing how one lives in these spaces.

The public is invited to nominate which projects deserve to be considered by the jury. Anyone is welcome to submit their proposals on the website.

Participation terms

It is a Europe-wide award and participation is open to all architects, town planners and/or landscapers, regardless of nationality or place of residence. Participation is open to all projects that were completed and put into use between 1 January, 2014 and 31 December, 2015.


A jury of international prestige will select 10 finalists, from which two winners will be chosen, one for each category. The authors of these projects will receive recognition and a cash prize of €10,000 each.


Entry open until 16th September. Proposals must be sent in video format between 15 July and 31 October, 2016 to the website

In mid-December 2016 the two winners will be announced at a ceremony held at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona. After this first edition, the event will be held every two years.

Download the information related to this competition here.

  • Title

    Call for entries: SIMON architecture awards, Living Places
  • Type

    Competition Announcement (Built Projects & Masterplans)
  • Organizers

  • Registration Deadline

    September 16, 2016 11:30 PM
  • Submission Deadline

    October 31, 2016 11:00 PM
  • Venue

    Europe-wide award
  • Price


This competition was submitted by an ArchDaily user. If you'd like to submit a competition, call for submissions or other architectural 'opportunity' please use our "Submit a Competition" form. The views expressed in announcements submitted by ArchDaily users do not necessarily reflect the views of ArchDaily.

Cite: "Call for entries: SIMON architecture awards, Living Places" 08 Sep 2016. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.