AIA Elevates Five International Architects to the College of Fellows

AIA Elevates Five International Architects to the College of Fellows

The 2015 Jury of Fellows from the American Institute of Architects (AIA) has elevated five international members to its prestigious College of Fellows, including two architects from the Spanish firm Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos that recently won the 2015 Alvar Aalto Medal. The award is given to those who have made significant contributions to the profession. All Fellows will be honored at an investiture ceremony at the 2015 National AIA Convention and Design Exposition in Atlanta. The complete list of newly inducted Honorary Fellows, after the break.

2015 Honorary Fellows:

  • Pedro Gubbins Foxley; Santiago, Chile; Gubbins Arquitectos Consultores
  • Hongyuan Mei; Heilongjiang Province, People's Republic of China; The Architectural Design and Research Institute of HIT
  • Fuensanta Nieto; Madrid, Spain; Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos
  • Jo Noero; Cape Town, South Africa; Noero Architects
  • Enrique Sobejano; Madrid, Spain; Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos

2015 Jury of Honorary Fellows:

  • Steven Miller, FAIA, Chair — Dubai, UAE
  • John J. Castellana, FAIA — Bloomfield Hills, Michigan (TMP Architecture, Inc.)
  • Steve Crane, FAIA — Salt Lake City (VCBO)
  • Brian P. Dougherty, FAIA — Costa Mesa, California (Dougherty + Doughtery Architects, LLP)
  • Diane Georgopulos, FAIA — Cambridge, Massachusetts (Massachusetts Housing Finance Agency)
  • Mary Katherine Lanzillotta, FAIA — Washington, D.C. (Hartman Cox Architects)
  • George Miller, FAIA — New York City (Pei Cobb Freed & Partners Architects, LLP)
  • Kenneth Schwartz, FAIA — New Orleans (Tulane University)
  • Donald T. Yoshino, FAIA — Boca Raton (Yoshino Architecture, PA)

147 AIA members have also been inducted into the College of Fellows. You can view the complete list, here.

About this author
Cite: Karissa Rosenfield. "AIA Elevates Five International Architects to the College of Fellows" 06 Feb 2015. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.