Registration Open: European Award for Architectural Heritage Intervention AADIPA

The Award for Architectural Heritage Intervention AADIPA, arises from the belief that heritage, as a vehicle for social integration and an economic vitalizing resource for the community, deserves to be appreciated and encouraged. In the current context, in which architectural heritage is considered not only to be a fundamental instrument of knowledge but also a first rate socioeconomic resource for the sustainable development of the territory, the disclosure, distinction and recognition of works and quality projects contributing to the preservation of the collective memory is imperative.

With this second call, the deadline for registration comprising December 2014 to April 15, 2015 at 24:00, the contest is aimed at consolidating itself as a catalyst and observatory of new challenges added to the conservation and intervention in built heritage by the globalization of contemporary architecture. All those experts involved in the interdisciplinary heritage value chain ­architects, historians, archaeologists...­, can participate in a contest that will end with the awards ceremony taking place in June 2015 in the city of Barcelona within the framework of the International Biennial of Architectural Heritage that is organized with the support of COAC, AADIPA and the Government of Catalonia. 

The call is divided into four categories:

  • Category A: Intervention in built heritage - All architectural, permanent or ephemeral interventions in architectural properties of heritage interest.
  • Category B: Exterior spaces - All interventions in the historic public space, in monumental and cultural landscape environments.
  • Category C: Urban planning - All planning work aimed at the protection, conservation and enhancement of architectural heritage.
  • Category D: Disclosure - Those initiatives, activities and actions that are aimed at disseminating the values of architectural heritage.

As a requirement, all submissions must have been done or published in the period between January 1st, 2008 and December 31th, 2014. The international jury of the second edition will be composed by renowned architects as: Antón Capitel, Toni Gironés, Malgorzata Rozbicka, Joaquín Pérez, Jose Luís Infanzón, Giuseppe Lonetti, Antoni Vilanova, Sonia Puente Landázuri, Cristopher Graz, Raquel Lacuesta and Miguel Angel Troitiño; and the winners will be awarded a framed reproduction of an original photograph by Francesc Català Roca and finalists, a diploma of merit. The winning entries, finalists and submitted works will be part of the catalogue published for each issue to document the event. 

The complete rules, here.

Press release via Award for Architectural Heritage Intervention AADIPA.

About this author
Cite: Karissa Rosenfield. "Registration Open: European Award for Architectural Heritage Intervention AADIPA" 24 Dec 2014. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.