Benedetta Tagliabue Appointed as Newest Pritzker Prize Jury Member

Benedetta Tagliabue Appointed as Newest Pritzker Prize Jury Member

Barcelona architect Benedetta Tagliabue has been appointed as the newest and ninth member of the Pritzker Architecture Prize jury, joining Martha Thorne (executive director), Peter Palumbo (chair), Alejandro Aravena, Stephen Breyer, Yung Ho Chang, Kristin Feireiss, Glenn Murcutt, Juhani Pallasmaa and Ratan N. Tata.

As Tom Pritzker, president of the Hyatt Foundation described, Tagliabue was chosen for her “deep and international knowledge of the best in architecture today” which will bring “new perspectives” to the jury. 

“The Pritzker Prize has become the award that points out the most important directions in architecture,” stated Tagliabue. “For more than 35 years, quality in architecture at all scales and regardless of firm size has been the outstanding value of the prize. I feel incredibly honored to be part of the jury and I am looking forward to sharing ideas and beautiful moments with my colleagues.”

More on Tagliabue’s selection, after the break. 

Tagliabue, director of EMBT Miralles Tagliabue, has become internationally renowned for her poetic and contextual approach to architecture. Her portfolio, which ranges from office towers to public spaces and industrial design, has received numerous awards, including the 2005 RIBA Stirling Prize to the 2006 National Spanish Prize. Most recently, Tagliabue received the 2013 RIBA Jencks Award for her recent and major contribution to both the theory and practice of architecture internationally.

Her most notable projects are the Scottish Parliament in Edinburgh, Diagonal Mar Park, and the Santa Caterina market in Barcelona, Campus Universitario de Vigo, and the Spanish Pavilion at the 2010 Shanghai World Expo which was awarded the prestigious RIBA International “Best International Building of 2011” award.

Tagliabue is also highly involved in architectural education. She has been a visiting professor at Harvard University, Columbia University and Barcelona ETSAB, and frequently serves as a lecturer and jury member for various architecture forums, universities and prestigious awards from around the globe. 

In honor of her late husband and partner Enric Miralles, Tagliabue is the director of the Enric Miralles Foundation, whose goal is to promote experimental architecture.

Courtesy of the Pritzker Architecture Prize

The chair of the jury, Lord Peter Palumbo, stated, “I am delighted that Benedetta Tagliabue has agreed to join the jury of The Pritzker Architecture Prize. Her distinction as an architect and her deep knowledge of the history of architecture will be invaluable to the deliberations of the jury.”

News via the Pritzker Architecture Prize.

About this author
Cite: Karissa Rosenfield. "Benedetta Tagliabue Appointed as Newest Pritzker Prize Jury Member" 29 Oct 2014. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.