Venice Biennale 2014: 100 Architects to Discuss "Time Space Existence"

The Dutch non-profit Global Arts Affairs Foundation has summoned a diverse group of 100 architects from over 40 countries to participate in the Collateral Event “Time Space Existence” at the 2014 Venice Architecture Biennale.

Ricardo Bofill, Norman Foster and Eduardo Souto De Moura are among the many participating, showcasing ideas, research and aspirations that will add commentary about the current state of architecture as well as highlight philosophical questions and concepts regarding time, space and existence.

A complete list of participants, after the break...

Emmanuelle Moureaux, “100 colors”, 2013. Location: Tokyo, Japan © Daisuke Shima / Nacasa & Partners

“With their structures, architects often have an enormous impact on the way we humans experience our surrounding, experience Time-Space. They influence our daily existence and leave a mark on the earth from this current Time and often this 'mark' even outlives the architect himself,” as stated the curators. 

“Architects should be very conscious about the impact their activities and decisions have on people and other living beings as well as on our environment as a total. By combining different architectural thoughts and approaches, this exhibition aims to enlarge our human awareness of our own personal existence as a human being within a specific space and time.”

Interior Rendering of Ricardo Bofill Exhibition; Courtesy of Ricardo Bofill Taller de Architectura

The exhibition will take place in two locations: Palazzo Bembo and Palazzo Mora. The 32 rooms in Palazzo Bembo will mainly highlight solo-presentations, by architects such as Ricardo Bofill, Allford Hall Monaghan Morris, GMP and White arkitekter, or research projects such as that of the University of Houston. Palazzo Mora will show a variety of architects within its grand Venetian spaces, such as the sculpture by Eduardo Souto de Moura.

Ricardo Bofill, School of Industrial Management, 2011. Location: Benguerir, Morocco © Lluis Carbonell

Participating architects include:

  • Allford Hall Monaghan Morris (GBR)
  • AllesWirdGut (AUT)
  • Altro Studio (ITA)
  • Ed Anthony (GBR)
  • Architecture Project (MLT)
  • Architekten Wannenmacher + Möller (DEU)
  • Arditti + RDT Arquitectos (MEX)
  • Baar-Baarenfels (AUT)
  • Alejandro Beautell (ESP)
  • Bekkering Adams architecten (NLD)
  • Heinrich Bobst (CHE)
  • Ricardo Bofill (ESP)
  • Josep Ferrando
  • Bramona (ESP)
  • Ueli Brauen & Doris Wälchli (CHE)
  • Louise Braverman (USA)
  • Michael Burch (USA)
  • Tuncer Cakmakli (TUR)
  • Caribbean School of Architecture (JAM)
  • Chance De Silva + Scanner (GBR)
  • Waltraut Cooper (AUT)
  • Florencia Costa (ITA)
  • Daffonchio & associates (ZAF)
  • De Blacam & Meagher (IRL)
  • Mark Dziewulski (USA)
  • Ebner + Greutmann + Bolzern (AUT)(CHE)
  • ETAT Arkitekter (SWE)
  • Fabulous Urban (CHE)
  • Jaime J. Ferrer Fores (ESP)
  • Norman Foster+Partners (GBR)
  • Frame and Elements | Tomoyuki Utsumi (JPN)
  • Antonio Freiles (ITA)
  • Fuhrimann & Hächler Architekten (CHE)
  • Lisbeth Funck (NOR)
  • Future-scape Architects (JPN)
  • Benjamin Garcia Saxe (PRI)
  • General Architecture (SWE)
  • Petra Gipp Arkitektur (SWE) + Akane Moriyama (JPN)
  • Ernst Giselbrecht (AUT)
  • GM architects (LBN)
  • GMP (DEU)
  • David Guerra (BRA)
  • Stein Halvorsen (NOR)
  • Plexwood® - Skins, by Frank Heerema (NLD)
  • Heri & Salli (AUT)
  • Kohki Hiranuma Architect & Associates (JPN)
  • HLM Architects (NOR)
  • In praise of Shadows (SWE)
  • Inspiration (IND)
  • Jérôme Jacqmin (FRA)
  • Riho Jagomagi (EST)
  • Eleena Jamil Architect (MYS)
  • Nils Koenning (DEU)
  • The Gerhard Lenz Project (AUT)
  • Les Architects FABG (CAN)
  • Alessandro Lupi (ITA)
  • Manifold Design (USA)
  • Mann & Capua Mann (CHE)
  • Rodolphe Mertens (LUX)
  • Min2 (NLD)
  • MOB Architects (GRC)
  • Emmanuelle Moureaux (JPN)
  • New-Territories (THA)
  • Edmund Ng (SGP)
  • Nickl & Partner (DEU)
  • Akmar (NLD)
  • NMD Nomadas (VEN)
  • Numen | For Usa (DEU)
  • OPTA Arquitectos (ESP)
  • Ortuzar & Gebauer + Simonetti & Stewart (CHL)
  • Parc Architectes (FRA)
  • Budi Pradono Architects (IDN)
  • Sanjay Puri Architects (IND)
  • Rintala Eggertsson Architects (NOR)
  • Luca Selva (CHE)
  • Shatotto (BGD)
  • Jonathan Shimony + Rafael Mahdavi (FRA)
  • Samar Singh Jodha (IND)
  • Kirsti Sivén & Asko Takala (FIN)
  • Eduardo Souto De Moura (PRT)
  • SsD Architecture (KOR)
  • Studiomk27 (BRA)
  • SURE Architecture (CHN)
  • Carl Fredrik Svenstedt Architecte (FRA)
  • Takasaki Masaharu (JPN)
  • Peter Tay Studio (SGP)
  • Terreform ONE (USA)
  • Tuuli Tiitola-Meskanen (FIN)
  • Alberto Torsello (ITA)
  • Universidad Iberoamericana Mexico City (MEX)
  • University of Houston (USA)
  • Buenos Aires (ARG) & TU Delft (NLD)
  • University of the Philippines Diliman (PHL)
  • UnSangDong Architects (KOR)
  • Vertical Brigade (NOR/SWE)
  • Wasserfall Munting Architects (NAM)
  • White arkitekter (SWE)
  • WTA Architecture + Design Studio (PHL)
  • Kris Yao | Artech (TWN)
  • ZEST architecture (ESP)

Image gallery

See allShow less
About this author
Cite: Karissa Rosenfield. "Venice Biennale 2014: 100 Architects to Discuss "Time Space Existence"" 22 May 2014. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.