20 Architects Listed to Compete for Estonian Cultural Facility

Zaha Hadid, Rick Joy, and COOP HIMMELB(L)AU are three of 20 diverse architects shortlisted to compete for the commission of the International Arvo Pärt Center near Tallinn. As part of the competition’s second stage, the selected practices will move forward with the design of a 2,000-square-meter expandable facility which will be used to house the famous Estonian composer Arvo Pärt’s work on a wooden coastal site in Laulasmaa.

The Union of Estonian Architects (UEA) will announce the winner on June 20. See a complete list of the competing architects, after the break.

  • Allied Works Architecture, USA
  • Alver Arhitektid OÜ, Estonia
  • Arhitektibüroo Emil Urbel, Estonia
  • AZPML, United Kingdom
  • Claudio Silvestrin Architects, United Kingdom
  • COOP HIMMELB(L)AU, Austria
  • Henning Larsen Architects, Denmark
  • Jensen & Skodvin Arkitekter AS, Norway
  • Johan Celsing Arkitektkontor AB, Sweden
  • Kavakava OÜ, Estonia
  • KOKO Arhitektid OÜ, Estonia
  • Kolm Pluss Üks OÜ, Estonia
  • Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos SLP, Spain
  • OFFICE Kersten Geers David van Severen, Belgium
  • OFIS arhitekti, Slovenia
  • Rick Joy Architects, USA
  • Salto AB OÜ, Estonia
  • Schneider+Schumacher Planungsgesellschaft, Germany
  • Stuudio Tallinn OÜ, Estonia
  • Zaha Hadid Architects, United Kingdom

The Arvo Pärt Center is scheduled to open in 2018, when Estonia will celebrate its 100th year of independence.

Reference: BDOnline, News.err

About this author
Cite: Karissa Rosenfield. "20 Architects Listed to Compete for Estonian Cultural Facility " 18 Feb 2014. ArchDaily. Accessed . <https://www.archdaily.com/478412/20-architects-listed-to-compete-for-estonia-cultural-facility> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.