d3 Natural Systems 2009 Competition winners announced

d3 Natural Systems 2009 Competition winners announced

Architectural Design Competition d3 is pleased to announce the winners of the Natural Systems competition for 2009. The program promotes investigation of natural systems from microscopic to universal toward determining new architectonic strategies.

The competition invited architects, designers, engineers, and students to collectively explore the potential for analyzing, documenting, and deploying nature-based, sustainable influences in urbanism, architecture, interiors, and designed objects.

The competition awarded seven prizes, with first place captured by London-based Kenny Kinugasa-Tsui and Lorene Faure for their project: “Urban Agriculture: Hybridized Farm Bridge as City Garden”. Some of the awards, after the break.

SUSTAINABLE WORLDWIDE CATEGORY First Place: Kenny Kinugasa-Tsui & Lorene Faure (UK) Project: Urban Agriculture: Hybridized Farm Bridge as City Garden Second Place: konyk architecture pc (USA) Project: Urban Aeration Third Place: Chen Nai Chun (TAIWAN) Project: Urban Kidney

SUSTAINABLE NYC CATEGORY Design Innovation Award: Liam Young/Tomorrows Thoughts Today (UK) Project: Make Me a Mountain!

SPECIAL MENTIONS Sustainable Urbanism/Landscape: Infrastructure: Laura Garofalo (USA) Project: Fog Harvester Sustainable Small Project/Interior Design: Pilskog & Kanter Architecture (NORWAY) Project: Wind & Light Screens Sustainable Product: Nicholas Bruscia/SUNY Buffalo (USA) Project: Allotropic Systems

For more information on this competition, and other d3 events, please visit www.d3space.org.

About this author
Cite: Sebastian Jordana. "d3 Natural Systems 2009 Competition winners announced" 02 Jul 2009. ArchDaily. Accessed . <https://www.archdaily.com/27555/d3-natural-systems-2009-competition-winners-announced> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.