VMZinc Announces Winners of the Fifth Archizinc Trophy Awards

VMZinc Announces Winners of the Fifth Archizinc Trophy Awards
Courtesy of VMZinc

The 10 winners of the fifth VMZINC® Archizinc Trophy awards program, sponsored by the Umicore Group, were unveiled this month at the Terrass Kardinal in Paris. The bi-annual competition for architects requires that the submitted designs use VMZINC solutions in original projects. VMZINC is the international rolled zinc products brand manufactured and marketed by Umicore Building Products USA, headquartered in Raleigh, North Carolina. Winners included six projects in the categories “Private Housing,” “Commercial Buildings,” and “Public Buildings”. More information on the winners after the break.

Four special honors were also named for “Sustainable Building,” “Daring,” Internet Users Choice” (in which the public cast votes), and “Jury’s Special Award.” Representing 19 different countries, architects submitted 118 projects that were assessed by a jury comprised of 11 international professionals (architects, journalists and an engineer). Nicola Leonardi, editor-in-chief of The Plan magazine, chaired the jury.

The jury used three fundamental criteria to determine the winners:

1. Architectural quality — the original expression of each project and the emotion generated 2. Integration into the site — the suitability of the project in terms of environment, urban planning, topography and climate 3. Innovation — highlighting zinc, its functionalities and performances.

The Archizinc Trophy winners were, by category:

Individual Housing: Winner – Fabien Chavignaud Architecte for a Private House in Carquefou (France); Special Mention – Brian Bell – BLDGS for the Ansley Glass House in Atlanta, Georgia (USA)

Commercial Buildings: Winner – Dean Marchetto/Marchetto Higgins Stieve Architects, for the Extension, Architecture Studio, Hoboken, New Jersey (USA).

Public Buildings: Winner – Ulrich Junk/Junk & Reich Architecten for Historical Library, Augustinian Monastery, Erfurt (Germany); Special Mention 1 – Cheng Dapeng/Beijing New Era Architectural Design Ltd., for Yungang Grottoes Museum, Datong (China); Special Mention 2 – David Mackay & Francisco Gual Trajine/MBM Arquitectes for Casa Dels Xuklis, Llars Mundet (Spain).

Sustainable Building: Jean-Philippe Thomas Architectes for Luis Ortiz Secondary School, Saint Dizier (France)

Daring: Steve Woodland, Cabinet Cox Howlett & Bailey Woodland for Entertainment Centre, Albany (Australia)

Internet Award: Diego Garcia Munoz Vaquero/Prieto + Vaquero Arquitectos y MCCL Arquitectos for Centro Sociocultural, Agron (Spain)

Jury’s Special Award: John Ronan Architects for the Poetry Foundation, Chicago, Illinois (USA).

For more information, please visit here.

About this author
Cite: Alison Furuto. "VMZinc Announces Winners of the Fifth Archizinc Trophy Awards " 07 Jul 2012. ArchDaily. Accessed . <https://www.archdaily.com/250472/vmzinc-announces-winners-of-the-fifth-archizinc-trophy-awards> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.