d3 Housing Tomorrow 2012 Winners

d3 is pleased to announce the winners of the 2012 Housing Tomorrow competition. The annual competition promotes the exploration of contextual, cultural, and life cycle flows that offer new housing strategies for living in the future. Sponsored by New York-based d3, the competition invites architects, designers, engineers, and students to collectively explore innovative approaches to residential urbanism, architecture, interiors, and designed objects.

d3 recognizes innovative strategies that challenge conventional housing typologies with emerging planning strategies, advanced technologies and alternative materials. Competition submissions for 2012 reflect forces of globalization and adaptation, as well as the changing nature of visualization in academia and professional design practice. As an annual competition, d3 Housing Tomorrow seeks to identify and celebrate emerging voices and visionary proposals that connect housing with people, context and ecologies.

Continue after the break to view the three winners and twelve honorable mentions selected by the jury.

d3 Housing Tomorrow 2012 Winners  - More Images+ 18

First Prize / ‘Woolopolis’ / Hannes Frykholm and Henry Stephens (Sweden/New Zealand): The project rethinks various aspects of New Zealand’s wool economy and combines processing facilities, lofted housing units, and a market functioning as the commu¬nal center of a networked live-work community.

Second Prize / ‘Honeycombed Transformation’ / Chih-Wei Hsu (Taiwan): The project addresses integrated housing communities that lessen the carbon footprint by establishing a high-density living environment minimizing impact on surrounding natural territories.

Third Prize / ‘Invertec House’ / Danielle Apap, Lishi Li, and Miguel Silva Santisteban (Australia): The project reconsiders privacy thresholds, providing opportunities for the house to mediate between public and communal realms.

Twelve Special Mentions:

Sustainable New York Award: ‘Hobo Corp.’ / Jodi McLeod, Natasha Gershfield, William Allen, Rongxiao Han (UK/China)

High-Density Housing: ‘Noah Tower’ / Pei Ru Li, Kaining Peng, Chen Liang (China)

Medium-Density Housing: ‘Mountain Band-Aid’ / Yiting Shen, Nanjue Wang, Ji Xia, Zihan Wang (China)

Low-Density Housing: ‘Urban Green House’ / Rebecca Ryan Wall (USA)

Suburban Intervention: ‘High-Density Tucson’ / Mohammad Askarzadeh, Parisa Mansourian (Iran)

Master Planning: ‘unBuffer Zone’ /  Natalia Christodoulou, Miranda Savva, Fatmagul Oge, Lei Bao (Cyprus/China)

Adaptive Reuse: ‘Boom Blox’ / Andrea Giordano, Alim Saleh, Kieran Bruce, William Garforth-Bles, Danae Razou (UK)

Interior Architecture: ‘Factory Reconstruction’ / Qi Zhang, Shuo Li, Zihe Deng (China)

Single-Family/Modular: ‘Furtive Hut’ / Gonzalo del Val (Spain)

Alternative Typology: ‘Symbiotic City’ / J.Y. Chan, S.L. Chau, H.W. Cheung, M.T. Chow (Hong Kong)

Director’s Choice: ‘Metabolic Renewal’ / Majid Behboudi, Arash Nourkeyhani, Mark Ross, Paul Harrison (Canada)

Director’s Choice: “Moving Dove” / Wu Hao, Shen Shuangzhi, Zhu Xiaozhi (China)

All winning submissions and selected 3d projects from the 2012 d3 Housing Tomorrow competition will be exhibited at the Mississippi State University School of Architecture Giles Hall Gallery until April 20th.

The competition was co-directed by Laura Garofalo, Assistant Professor/SUNY Buffalo and winner of previous d3 Housing Tomorrow/d3 Natural Systems competitions; and Gregory Marinic, Director of Interior Architecture and Assistant Professor/University of Houston.

The 2012 jury was composed of leaders of the academic and professional architecture and design community including: Jonus Ademovic, Principal of Archipelagos; Illya Azaroff, principal of plusLAB, Assistant Professor/CUNY, Adjunct Faculty School of Visual Arts; Sandra McKee, principal of Yoshihara McKee, Adjunct Assistant Professor/Columbia University & Fordham University; Marc Manack, principal of siloARD and Lecturer/Ohio State University; Ji Young Kim; member of J-SEArC/Columbia University; and Jorg Sieweke, Assistant Professor/University of Virginia.

A publication of winning projects and selected competition submissions will be published by d3 in Spring 2012. For further information, please visit: www.d3space.org/competitions

All images are courtesy of d3 HT2012.

Image gallery

See allShow less
About this author
Cite: Karissa Rosenfield. "d3 Housing Tomorrow 2012 Winners " 03 Apr 2012. ArchDaily. Accessed . <https://www.archdaily.com/222795/d3-housing-tomorrow-2012-winners> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.