2012 AIA Young Architects Award

2012 AIA Young Architects Award

Continue reading for the complete list of the 2012 Young Architects.

Timothy C. Bicknell, AIA – Bicknell is an award winning architect whose incredible dedication to both community and craft has truly distinguished his career. This dedication is reflected by his work for both clients, including non-profit clients, while maintaining a deep commitment to AIA Minnesota and other community organizations.

Brian Cavanaugh, AIA – Throughout Cavanaugh’s 16 year career, he has demonstrated a unique commitment to the practice of architecture and playing a critical leadership role in his community. Cavanaugh’s work has won numerous design awards – including local, state, and national design awards.

James M. Evans, AIA – In a relatively short time, Evans has joined an elite group of Texas architects who demonstrate nationally recognized design excellence with a fundamental commitment to environmental stewardship. He is also involved heavily involved with AIA Houston volunteering much of his time.

Shari G. Grant, AIA – Grant’s nontraditional career as an architect, engineer and artist is focused on developing simple, functional yet beautiful designs using a personal approach and hand sketches. She has developed her individual practice to apply her knowledge and has created award-winning designs.

Michael Halflants, AIA - Halflants is a principal of Halflants + Pichette Architects and a tenured professor at the University of South Florida. He currently serves as the chair of the AIA Gulf Coast Chapter’s Committee on Design.

Michael J. Hanrahan, AIA – Hanrahan has been a key member of Clarke Caton Hintz for over fifteen years serving as lead designer and project manager for many of the firms notable and award winning projects. He has dedicated his time by serving on AIA New Jersey’s executive committee.

Katie M. Harms, AIA – Dedication, passion and thoughtful creativity are words that describe Harms. Her dedication is evident in many of the professional positions she has held both in the AIA and the community at large.

Thomas Jacobs, AIA – Jacobs has been contributing to the built environment throughout his 16 year career in ways that define leadership for the next generation of architects. He has been an integral part in the creation of some of the best buildings in Chicago.

Hao Ko, AIA – Ko brings his considerable talents to his role as Design Director for Gensler’s San Francisco architecture studio. His portfolio includes diverse architecture and master planning work for corporate, academic and institutional clients in the U.S. and Asia.

Stuart Magruder, AIA – Margruder has made significant impacts on the built environment through his willingness to put forth time and effort. He is currently working on developing methods for improving products while maintain the speed of installation and affordability.

Adam Palmer, AIA – Palmer is a passionate servant leader, guiding young people and building connections through his Young Architects Forum service. He has distinguished himself as an energetic liaison, inspiring young people to stay connected.

Jonathan Penndorf, AIA – Penndorf has consistently and enthusiastically contributed to improving the practice of architecture for young architects in Washington D.C. He founded the Emerging Architects Committee of the AIA DC Chapter, a highly successful outreach program for young members.

Brad Tomecek, AIA - Tomecek has have been involved in and donated time to many non-profit organizations including the AIA, Medicine Horse, Architects and Planners of Boulder, Habitat for Humanity, Special Olympics, State of Colorado Technical Advisory Board, Feed Denver, and the Urban Farm.

*Descriptions provided by the AIA press release. Click on the recipients names for more information.

About this author
Cite: Karissa Rosenfield. "2012 AIA Young Architects Award" 24 Jan 2012. ArchDaily. Accessed . <https://www.archdaily.com/202149/2012-aia-young-architects-award> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.