2009 AIA San Francisco Design Awards Winners

The American Institute of Architects, San Francisco chapter (AIA San Francisco) announces the winners of the 2009 AIA San Francisco Design Awards program.

At the gala, winners were recognized for their outstanding contributions to the built environment in the categories of Architecture and Interior Architecture, Energy + Sustainability, Integrated Practice, Young Architects and Associates, Unbuilt Design, and Urban Design in the Bay Area. Each of these award categories was divided into three subcategories-Honor, Merit, and Citation. In addition, awards for Special Achievement were also presented.

Each of the winning projects is featured in the March/April issue of California Home + Design magazine. All the winners, after the break.

Energy + Sustainability

Merit Award Portola Valley Town Center Siegel & Strain Architects and Goring and Straja Architects

Merit Award Windrush School Ratcliff

Citation Award 355 Eelventh Street Aidlin Darling Design

Citation Award San Francisco Friends School Pfau Long Architecture with Page and Turnbull

Excellence in Architecture

Honor Award Cathedral of Christ the Light Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP

Honor Award Congregation Beth Sholom Synagogue Stanley Saitowitz / Natoma Architects

Honor Award Final(ly) House Rothschild Schwartz architects, inc

Merit Award 355 Eleventh Street Aidlin Darling Design

Merit Award California Academy of Sciences Renzo Piano Building Workshop with Stantec Architecture and Arup

Merit Award Caretaker Cottage and Office Bohlin Cywinski Jackson

Citation Award Laidley Street Residence Zack / de Vito Architecture

Citation Award Salvation Army Ray & Joan Kroc Corps Community Center and Railton Place Housing Herman Coliver Locus Architecture

Citation Award Sava Pool Mark Cavagnero Associates & Paulett Taggart Architects

Citation Award Trinity School Extension Mark Cavagnero Associates Architects

Citation Award U.S. Embassy – Beijing Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP

Integrated Project Delivery

Honor Award California Pacific Medical Center – Cathedral Hill Hospital SmithGroup

Interior Architecture

Merit Award Unit No. 5 Stanley Saitowitz/Natoma Architects Inc.

Citation Award Hiroshi Sugimoto at the de Young Mark Cavagnero Associates

Citation Award Pixar Gensler

Citation Award The Pearson Theatre at Meyer Sound Marcy Wong Donn Logan Architects

Special Achievement

Howard Ashcraft San Francisco Bicycle Coalition San Francisco Public Library Commission Slow Food Nation Architects and Designers Steve Sharafian, Esq.

Unbuilt Design

Honor Award NEST House Naylor & Chu Architects

Citation Award Plug-in Pavilion Davids Killory in collaboration with Taylor Medlin

Urban Design

Honor Award Parkmerced Vision Plan Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP

Honor Award The Foshan Donghuali Master Plan Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP

Young Architects + Associates

Alex Salazar, AIA Anne Gluch, Associate AIA

Details on all the winning projects, here.

About this author
Cite: Sebastian Jordana. "2009 AIA San Francisco Design Awards Winners " 12 Mar 2009. ArchDaily. Accessed . <https://www.archdaily.com/16796/2009-aia-san-francisco-design-awards-winners> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.