Daniel Libeskind to Receive the 2011 Medal of Honor from AIA New York

© Studio Daniel Libeskind

Today the AIA New York Chapter will award Daniel Libeskind, AIA, with the 2011 Medal of Honor. The 144th Annual Meeting, which is open to the public, will take place at the Center for Architecture. The Medal of Honor has been given to a member or firm for distinguished work and high professional standing. Beginning in 1917 this award is the highest honor and past recipients include Louis Skidmore (1949), Ludwig Mies van der Rohe (1958), Toshikio Mori (2005) and David Childs (2010).

For more information or to attend click here.

In addition to the Medal of Honor, all of the living past presidents of AIANY (a list dating back to 1974) will be recognized at the event. Additional awards are below:

Award of Merit – Frank J. Sciame, Jr., Hon. AIANY Honorary Membership – Charles McKinney, Assoc. AIA, ASLA Andrew J. Thomas Award – Carol

Lamberg Harry B. Rutkins Award – Frederic Schwartz, FAIA Public Architect Award – Laurie D. Kerr, AIA George S. Lewis Award – WNYC Stephen

A. Kliment Oculus Award – John Morris Dixon, FAIA Special Citations - Lisa Phillips and the New Museum - Battery Park City Authority, Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects, Albanese Organization, Inc. - Solar One Green Energy, Arts and Education Center – Kirsten Sibilia, Assoc. AIA

The Annual Meeting is sponsored by Miele, and beverages are provided by Brooklyn Brewery.

About this author
Cite: Kelly Minner. "Daniel Libeskind to Receive the 2011 Medal of Honor from AIA New York" 21 Jun 2011. ArchDaily. Accessed . <https://www.archdaily.com/144969/daniel-libeskind-to-receive-the-2011-medal-of-honor-from-aia-new-york> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.