RIBA Stirling Prize 2010 Shortlist

© Iwan Baan

Now in its 15th year, the RIBA Stirling Prize is awarded to the architects of the best new European building ‘built or designed in Britain’. The winner will be announced at the Dinner on 2 October, and broadcast live on BBC Two’s The Culture Show at 6.30pm, presented by Kevin McCloud.

Complete shortlist after the break.

Ashmolean Museum / Rick Mather Architects:

© Richard Bryant

Bateman’s Row / Theis and Khan Architects:

© Nick Kane

Christ’s College School / DSDHA:

© Helene Binet DSDHA

Clapham Manor School / dRMM:

© Jonas Lencer

MAXXI National Museum / Zaha Hadid:

© Iwan Baan

Neues Museum / David Chipperfield Architects with Julian Harrap Architects:

© Joerg Von Bruchhausen
Cite: Jordana, Sebastian. "RIBA Stirling Prize 2010 Shortlist" 24 Sep 2010. ArchDaily. Accessed 20 Sep 2014. <http://www.archdaily.com/?p=79284>


  1. Thumb up Thumb down 0

    All the entries look kind of similar. All about surface.

    Where are the people, communities, families, children in these buildings. This isn’t Architecture, it’s fashion photography.

    • Thumb up Thumb down 0

      Good point, I guess that’s the fault of the architectural media as opposed to the architects themselves

  2. Thumb up Thumb down 0

    Zaha’s play is going to be obsolete in less than 10 yrs. It’s pop-architecture. Pretentious and shallow. Formalistic nothing else. Chipperfiled is deep and serious, no flashy visual effects and high pitches but pure music.

  3. Thumb up Thumb down 0

    Zaha’s Rome MAXXI for sure. That deserves to win. It is a masterpiece. Chipperfield’s is a great architect but this is not his best.

  4. Thumb up Thumb down 0


    I think the minimalism of Chipperfield will also be obsolete one day… but it doesen’t matter to me… what we like in ancien building is that they are a reflection of their time… and the fact they are “out of fashion” is interesting. To my point of view, the two of them are great architects (ZH and DC)… each one with its preoccupations, style, poetry…

    • Thumb up Thumb down 0

      Allow me to disagree. “Good stuff” is never getting “obsolete” or out of fashion. Ancient Greek shrines, Parisian residential style (so called French) , Chicago art-deco or German Bauhaus just few generic examples… Good interpretations of so called “classic” or “retro” (even so arrogantly rejected by stylish-modern architects) are still righteously loved by the majority of “regular folks”. It doesn’t mean that bold experiments in architecture should be avoided. It just that in my view some of them are intelligent, deep and creative (Chipperfield) and some are pompous, shallow and formalistic (Hadid). That’s why some are not obsolete even in hundred years while others are out of fashion momentarily. JMHO.

  5. Thumb up Thumb down 0

    Criticizing Zaha Hadid is fashionable today, as some may think that this makes them super-individualistic-intellectuals.
    Hadid and Chipperfield are both good, the others I don’t know so much.

  6. Thumb up Thumb down 0

    I’d like Hadid to take it. Have a feeling either one of the schools will win it. Political reasons. Governments cutting back on Building Schools program and all. Money on Clapham Manor. Shinier.

  7. Thumb up Thumb down 0

    Hadid Maxxi for sure – this is one of her best works and is definately a masterpiece, many years in the creation.

  8. Thumb up Thumb down 0

    Id like chipperfield to win it ,not because of their minimal style , because most of his work and this one are relate to the context ,actually their works are rised according to site and context that they are working in.

Share your thoughts