The Iconic Awards 2018 is Now Open for Submissions

The Iconic Awards 2018 is Now Open for Submissions

ICONIC AWARDS 2018: Innovative Architecture – The whole world of architecture International architecture and design competition.

Entries are open for architects, designers and manufacturers to submit projects for this year's ICONIC AWARDS 2018: Innovative Architecture, organized by the German Design Council.

The ICONIC AWARDS 2018: Innovative Architecture honor superb examples of the interaction of all disciplines in an independent architecture and design competition which focuses on internationally outstanding construction projects, innovative interior and product design as well as compelling communication in an architectural context.

Architects, designers, the building sector and industry are once more invited to participate in the ICONIC AWARDS 2018: Innovative Architecture with their contributions. Applications for the competition will be accepted through 14 May 2018.

An independent jury composed of renowned representatives from the fields of architecture, interior design, design and brand communication, such as Michel Casertano (Atelier Brückner) and Linda Stannieder (GRAFT BRANDLAB Berlin) will choose the Winners, Best of Best and Selection of the ICONIC AWARDS 2018: Innovative Architecture in the categories Architecture, Interior, Product, Communication and Concept.

This year, a new prize entitled “Innovative Material” is being introduced. All participants whose entries in the categories Architecture, Interior and Product are particularly distinguished by the use of innovative materials and thus have a distinctive influence on the design of buildings, interior rooms and products, can enter their project in this superordinate category. The focus here is squarely on the development of sustainable, energy-efficient materials that are also versatile in terms of function as well as design.

MAAT (Museum of Art, Architecture and Technology) Museum, Lissabon, Portugal © EDP Foundation

Within the framework of the competition, prize money amounting to EUR 20,000 in total will be awarded again in the special categories Architects of the Year and Interior Designers of the Year. An honorary award will go to the Architects' Client of the Year. Nominations will be made by the jury as well as representatives of the trade media.

MAAT (Museum of Art, Architecture and Technology) Museum, Lissabon, Portugal © Piet Niemann

Last year, the architectural firm AL-A was awarded the title of Architects of the Year. The London-based office founded by the architect Amanda Levete in 2009 succeeded from the very beginning in impressing the experts with fascinating designs, including the modernization of the Galeries Lafayette in Paris, the V&A Museum in London and the Central Embassy, a shopping mall in Bangkok. The Museum of Art, Architecture and Technology (MAAT) in Lisbon, completed in 2016, likewise created a sensation.

New Shanghai Theatre and Exhibition Centre © Pedro Pegenaute

The jury's pick for the title of Interior Designers of the Year was the designer duo Lyndon Neri and Rossana Hu, who have been creating spectacular projects with their Neri&Hu Design and Research Office for many years, ranging from architecture in space to furniture design. By questioning the traditional use of spaces, things and materials as such and continuously placing them in new contexts, they create uniquely beautiful designs with their typical signature time and again.

The prize of honor Architects' Client of the Year, which honors the fostering of a holistic understanding of architecture on the part of a contracting company, was awarded to the City of Hamburg for the spectacular concert hall Elbphilharmonie.
The Elbphilharmonie, which opened in 2017, is not merely another concert hall, but a world-class architectural icon of inestimable cultural value. Bringing the project to fruition despite immense delays and huge cost overruns required people with visionary power, courage and stamina, particularly on the part of the client.

For details about entry requirements and how to submit your work, visit the ICONIC AWARDS 2018: Innovative Architecture website.

This award/grant/scholarship announcement was submitted by an ArchDaily user. If you'd like to submit a competition, call for submissions or other architectural 'opportunity' please use our "Submit Grants, Scholarships & Awards" form. The views expressed in announcements submitted by ArchDaily users do not necessarily reflect the views of ArchDaily.

Cite: "The Iconic Awards 2018 is Now Open for Submissions" 20 Mar 2018. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.