Nominate Now: 2016 ArchDaily Building of the Year Awards

Nominate Now: 2016 ArchDaily Building of the Year Awards

2015 was an excellent year for ArchDaily. As we've continued to grow, we've delivered more information and tools to more people all around the world, leveling access to architectural knowledge and encouraging an exchange of ideas from professionals of diverse backgrounds, opening architectural up to everyone rather than just the privileged few.

Now for the 7th consecutive year, we are tasking our readers with the responsibility of recognizing and rewarding the projects that are making an impact in the profession with ArchDaily's 2016 Building of the Year Awards. By voting, you are part of an unbiased, distributed network of jurors and peers that has elevated the most relevant projects over the past six years. Over the next two weeks, your collective intelligence will filter over 3,000 projects down to just 14 stand-outs - the best in each category on ArchDaily.

This is your chance to reward the architecture you love by nominating your favorite for the 2016 Building of the Year Awards!

Nominate Now

Full rules after the break.

Sambade House by spaceworkers, winner of the 2015 Houses award. Image © Fernando Guerra | FG + SG

The Process

During the next 2 weeks, you’ll be in charge of nominating buildings (in fourteen categories) for the shortlist, and then voting for the winners of each category. We will guide you through these stages accordingly.

During the nominating stage, each registered user of the My ArchDaily platform will have the chance to nominate one project (published between Jan 1st 2015 and Dec 31st 2015) per category. This stage starts on Jan 26th and ends on Feb 1st at 11:59PM EST. After this, five projects per category will move into the voting stage, starting February 2nd and ending on February 8th at 11:59PM EST. The winner will be announced on February 9th, 2016.

Farming Kindergarten by Vo Trong Nghia Architects, winner of the 2015 Educational Architecture award. Image © Gremsy

Selected Projects

  • All buildings published between Jan 1st 2015 and Dec 31st 2015 under the following categories are eligible for this award: Houses, Housing, Healthcare Architecture, Industrial Architecture, Educational Architecture, Sports Architecture, Cultural Architecture, Hospitality Architecture, Refurbishment, Offices, Interiors Architecture, Commercial Architecture, Public Architecture, and Religious Architecture.
  • By submitting their works to ArchDaily for publication, offices agree to enter this competition and to be present on the promotional material.
  • Authorship and copyright of each project belong to the offices and architects mentioned on each project’s page.

Wieden+Kennedy NY by WORKac, winner of the 2015 Interior Architecture award. Image © Bruce Damonte


  • The nomination process starts on January 26th and ends February 1st, 2016 at 11:59PM EST.
  • The voting round starts on February 2nd and ends February 8th, 2016 at 11:59PM EST.
  • The winners will be announced on February 9th, 2016.

Nine Bridges Country Club by Shigeru Ban Architects, winner of the 2015 Hospitality Architecture award. Image © Hiroyuki Hirai


  • Only registered users of the My ArchDaily platform can nominate/vote.
  • Anyone can register on the My ArchDaily platform to nominate/vote. To do so, you must follow the registration link and complete the required steps to become a registered user (or use your existing My ArchDaily account).
  • To register you must use a valid email address. Votes coming from users without a valid email address will be removed.
  • You can only nominate/vote for one building per category.
  • Offices and architects are encouraged to promote their works for voting, but no monetary or virtual gift compensation should be offered. You can use the following link:

The Iceberg by CEBRA + JDS + SeARCH + Louis Paillard Architects, winner of the 2015 Housing award. Image © Mikkel Frost

First stage: Nominations

  • Starting January 26th, 2016, registered users will be able to nominate their favorite project for each of the 14 categories included in the Awards. One nomination per category.
  • Nomination ends on February 1st, 2016 at 11:59PM EST.
  • The five projects with the most nominations for each category will move on to the voting round.

Fogo Natural Park Venue by OTO, winner of the 2015 Cultural Architecture award. Image © Fernando Guerra | FG + SG

Second stage: Voting

  • On February 2nd, 2016, we will update the platform with the shortlisted projects and registered users will be able to vote for their favorite project among the finalists.
  • Users can vote for one project per category.
  • The voting round will end February 8th, 2016 at 11:59PM EST.

Twin Stations by sporaarchitects, winner of the 2015 Public Architecture award. Image © Tamás Bujnovszky


  • Winners of each category will be announced on ArchDaily’s home page on February 9th, 2016.
  • Winners of each category will receive a physical award from ArchDaily, delivered to their offices.
  • The 5 finalists and the winners of each category can use the respective title for their own purposes. ArchDaily will provide promotional material.

The Building on the Water by Álvaro Siza + Carlos Castanheira, winner of the 2015 Offices award. Image © Fernando Guerra | FG + SG

Important notes

  • All data of registered users will be kept private and will not be shared with 3rd parties.
  • After each stage, all nominations/votes will be checked. Votes submitted by fake/invalid registrations will be removed. All attempts to abuse the system, such as creating dummy accounts, suspicious behavior from individual IP addresses or any other techniques to generate nominations/votes in automated ways will be logged and reviewed for removal.
  • ArchDaily reserves the right to analyze the data during every stage of the Awards in order to ensure a fair process.
  • All questions should be sent to David Basulto, director of the awards, through our contact form.

About this author
Cite: AD Editorial Team. "Nominate Now: 2016 ArchDaily Building of the Year Awards" 26 Jan 2016. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

请向我们提名:你们亲自选出的2016 ArchDaily 年度建筑奖

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.